Allstate Sugar Bowl Announces Manning Award Finalists

Eleven Quarterbacks Will Vie for Annual Honor Through Bowl Season

NEW ORLEANS (November 29, 2018) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, announced 11 finalists for this year’s award on Thursday. The winner will be announced after the bowls in January and will be honored at a ceremony in New Orleans. The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes the candidates’ bowl performances into consideration in its balloting.

2018 Manning Award Finalists (stats through November 24)

 Name, School
 Cmp-Att  Pct.  Yards  TDs  INT  QBR  Rushing
Ian Book, Jr., Notre Dame 197-280 70.4 2,468 19 6 83.5 250 yds, 4 TDs
Jake Fromm, So., Georgia 161-233 69.1 2,236 24 4 86.1 NA
Will Grier, Sr., West Virginia 266-397 67.0 3,864 37 8 82.1 3 TDs
Dwayne Haskins, So., Ohio State 314-455 69.0 4,081 42 7 85.8 127 yds, 4 TDs
D’Eriq King, Jr., Houston 219-345 63.5 2,982 36 6 84.4 674 yds, 14 TDs
Trevor Lawrence, Fr., Clemson 200-302 66.2 2,488 22 4 80.4 126 yds, 1 TD
Drew Lock, Sr., Missouri 252-399 63.2 3,125 25 8 82.3 145 yds, 6 TDs
McKenzie Milton, Jr., UCF 171-289 59.2 2,663 25 6 78.5 307 yds, 9 TDs
Gardner Minshew, Sr., Washington State 433-613 70.6 4,477 36 9 77.7 103 yds, 3 TDs
Kyler Murray, Jr., Oklahoma 216-306 70.6 3,674 37 7 96.1 853 yds, 11 TDs
Tua Tagovailoa, So., Alabama 189-269 70.3 3,189 36 2 95.9 211 yds, 5 TDs

“College football has a truly impressive group of quarterbacks this year,” said Archie Manning. “It was very challenging to sit down and only select 11 for this honor and I want to give my thanks to our group of voters for taking the time to come up with an excellent group of finalists. Now we can all look forward to the postseason games to see which quarterback steps up and proves himself to be the best for the full season.”

Statistically, the group of finalists excels in nearly every category as they average over 3,000 yards passing while accounting for a total of 399 touchdowns. The group has thrown more than five times as many touchdown passes as interceptions. In addition, five of the finalists ran for five or more rushing touchdowns. Eight of the 11 led their teams to double digits in victories, while all 11 have led their teams to bowl eligibility. Six of this year’s Manning Award finalists directed their programs to conference championship games this weekend.

The list includes four juniors as well as three seniors, three sophomores and one freshman. The finalists are distributed between six different conferences: the SEC leads the way with three selections while the AAC and Big 12 have two each and the ACC, Big Ten, Pac 12 and the Independents have one.

In its first 14 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) joins the Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) with four Manning Award winners each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (McCoy and Young).

Statistically, the Manning Award has seen a wide-range of quarterbacks. Eleven of the Manning Award men threw for over 3,000 yards in their winning campaign, including 4,000-yard seasons from Mayfield, Griffin III, Marcus Mariota, Ryan, Watson (twice) and Winston. On the other hand, Watson (in 2015), Young, Manziel and Newton were all 1,000-yard rushers during their Manning years.

Perhaps most impressive among the statistics of the quarterbacks recognized by the Manning Award is touchdowns scored. Nine of the winners accounted for over 40 touchdowns during their successful seasons – Mariota tallied a Manning Award-best 58 touchdowns during his winning campaign in 2014.

One of the more unique aspects of the Manning Award is the fact that it takes account of the quarterbacks’ bowl performances, in addition to the regular season. Twelve of the 14 Manning Award winners won bowl games during the season they won the honor. Nine Manning Award honorees led their teams to the CFP Semifinals or a BCS Championship game appearance (Matt Leinart, Mariota, Mayfield, McCoy, Newton, Tebow, Watson, Winston and Young). Six won national championships (Leinart, Newton, Tebow, Watson, Winston and Young).

Previous Manning Award winners have also factored prominently in the NFL Draft as they all heard their names called on Draft Day. Four honorees were selected No. 1 overall (Mayfield, Newton, Russell and Winston), while four others went No. 2 or No. 3 (Griffin, Mariota, Ryan and Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-three players from 60 different schools were honored during the 2017 season.