Mandeville and Jesuit Take Titles at Allstate Sugar Bowl Metro Swimming Championships park

Mandeville High School won the girls’ title and Jesuit High School earned the boys’ championship at the 2015 Allstate Sugar Bowl Metro Swimming Championships held on Friday and Saturday at the University of New Orleans Aquatic Center.

Jesuit was the favored team amongst the boys and cruised to a repeat victory with 384.5 points. Hahnville finished in second place with 250 points while St. Paul’s had 216 points. On the girls’ side, Mandeville also repeated as champion, scoring 271 points to edge Dominican, which had 257 points. St. Scholastica was third with 3243, Mt. Carmel took fourth with 218 and Northshore rounded out the top five with 197.

Full Results

Standouts on the individual level included Jesuit junior Josh Ormond, who won the 200-yard free style and took second in the 500 free and Denise Frantz, a senior for Mandeville, who led the Skippers with wins in the 50 free and the 100 breast. Hahnville’s Warren Massimini won both the 50 and the 100 freestyle, while St. Paul’s senior Griffin Guzan set a meet record in the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 51.20.

The event featured a total of 41 teams and almost 500 individual swimmers participating. Teams from the Northshore, Southshore, Thibodaux, Houma and Morgan City joined the New Orleans participants.

Girls’ Team Results:

  1. Mandeville: 271 points
  2. Dominican: 257
  3. St. Scholastica: 243
  4. Mount Carmel: 218
  5. Northshore: 197
  6. E.D. White: 188
  7. Fontainebleau: 129
  8. Slidell: 115
  9. Vandebilt: 111
  10. Cabrini: 71
  11. Lakeshore: 70
  12. Destrehan: 44
  13. Northlake Christian: 41
  14. Archbishop Hannan: 40
  15. Sacred Heart: 36
  16. Isidore Newman: 31
  17. Archbishop Chapelle: 22
  18. Lusher: 18
  19. St. Charles Catholic: 18
  20. Hahnville: 14
  21. Ursuline Academy: 9

Boys’ Teams Results:

  1. Jesuit: 384.5
  2. Hahnville: 250
  3. St. Paul’s: 216
  4. Mandeville: 191.5
  5. E.D. White: 169
  6. Northshore: 157
  7. Archbishop Rummel: 144
  8. Slidell: 123
  9. Brother Martin: 120
  10. Holy Cross: 89
  11. Lusher: 60
  12. Northlake Christian: 52
  13. Isidore Newman: 44.5
  14. Destrehan: 39
  15. St. Charles Catholic: 32
  16. Vandebilt Catholic: 19
  17. Fontainebleau: 18.5
  18. Chalmette: 18
  19. Archbishop Hannan: 18
  20. Pope John Paul II: 14
  21. Lakeshore: 8

The Metro Championship is sanctioned by U.S. Swimming and is hosted by Jesuit High School. This is the fifth year that the Allstate Sugar Bowl has sponsored this event.

The Sugar Bowl Metro High School Championship is the premier swimming event for high school athletes in the metropolitan area. The popularity and significance of the event exceeds that of the city and state championship meets as it includes the schools of all five classes of LHSAA, including Catholic, public and private schools – ensuring that the best swimmers compete against each other, regardless of classification. The meet includes schools not only from New Orleans but also from the Northshore and other metropolitan areas.

The mission of the Allstate Sugar Bowl is to sponsor and promote amateur sporting events which will foster revenue and spark economic growth in the city of New Orleans and the state of Louisiana. Through all of its year-round slate of events, the organization has generated over $2 billion of economic impact for the city and the state in the last decade alone.