LSU Sweeps Titles at Allstate Sugar Bowl Cross Country Festival

METAIRIE, La. (September 12, 2015) – The LSU men’s and women’s cross country teams turned in dominating performances to win both collegiate divisions of the Allstate Sugar Bowl Cross Country Festival on Saturday morning at Lafreniere Park. The Cross Country Festival is the latest addition to the Sugar Bowl’s schedule of amateur athletic events, which now numbers over 50.

Full Results

LSU took the top 10 places in the five-kilometer women’s race, while the Tigers had eight of the top 10 men’s finishers. The top non-LSU finisher for the women was Branna Pace, a freshman from Xavier of New Orleans, who was 11th; UNO junior Calyton O’Callaghan finished in ninth place on the men’s side, the top non-Tiger. The individual women’s winner was LSU senior Morgan Schuetz, who notched a time of 19:40.6. On the men’s side, it was freshman Dajour Braxton from LSU finishing in 16:11.0 on the five-kilometer course.

At the high school varsity level, Lusher Charter won the girls’ division followed by Fountainbleau. The boys’ division title was won by Fountainbleau with De La Salle taking second. St. Martin’s Episcopal won both junior varsity divisions.

NCAA Division I Women’s Team Results:
1.       LSU (15 points)
2.       Mississippi Valley State (50)

NAIA College Women’s Team Results:
1.       Xavier, La. (17 points)
2.       Loyola New Orleans (58)
3.       Spring Hill (62)
4.       Dillard (111)
5.       Southern, New Orleans (112)

Top Women’s Individual Finishers
1.       Morgan Schuetz (LSU): 19:40.6
2.       Erika Lewis (LSU): 20:24.6
3.       Hannah Bourque (LSU): 20:25.7
4.       Rebecca Little (LSU): 20:040.9
5.       Jenna Walker (LSU): 20:45.3

Other Top Women’s Finishers
11.   Branna Pace (Xavier, La.): 21:49.3
16.   Emily Martinez (UNO): 22:13.5
20.   Katie Dolan (Spring Hill): 22:50.3
21.   Sierra McGinnis (Mississippi Valley State): 23:31.1
25.   Jordan Elissa (Loyola): 23:45.8
31.   Hydeia Barney (Dillard): 24:49.2
37.   Leonie Robinson (Southern, New Orleans): 26:36.5

NCAA Division I Men’s Results
1.       LSU (15 points)
2.       UNO (55)
3.       Mississippi Valley State (73)

NAIA Men’s Results
1.       Spring Hill (45 points)
2.       Loyola New Orleans (52)
3.       Xavier, La. (68)
4.       Southern, New Orleans (76)
5.       Dillard (94)

Top Men’s Individual Finishers
1.       Dajour Braxton (LSU): 16:11.0
2.       Christian Johnson (LSU): 16:27.0
3.       Hayden Kingfisher (LSU): 16:30.9
4.       Bryan Stamey (LSU): 16:34.0
5.       Austin Santacruz (LSU): 16:35.9

Other Top Men’s Finishers
11.   Clayton O’Callaghan (UNO): 16:46.0
12.   Aaron Albert (Mississippi Valley State): 17:17.5
14.   Jordan Travis (Spring Hill): 17:23.5
16.   Anthony Rizzi (Loyola, New Orleans): 17:28.7
20.   Christopher August (Xavier, La.): 18:09.0
24.   Alex Saunders (Southern, New Orleans): 18:27.8
25.   Lorenzo Gordon (Dillard): 20:17.2

The Allstate Sugar Bowl’s mission is to promote amateur sporting events which foster revenue and spark economic growth in the City of New Orleans and the State of Louisiana. Sponsoring the Allstate Sugar Bowl Cross Country Festival will greatly assist Loyola cross country to further develop this meet into one of the elite cross country meets in the Gulf South area.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl’s sponsorship is a reestablished partnership dating back to the 1950s when the Wolf Pack participated in the Sugar Bowl basketball tournaments, Loyola being the home for many of those tournaments in the 1950s. Some of Loyola’s most notable athletes were also enshrined in Allstate Sugar Bowl Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame.