Lacrosse Wraps Day One, Collegiate Showcase Tonight


Lacrosse Wraps Day One, Collegiate Showcase Tonight park

St. Thomas More High from Lafayette is the only undefeated team in varsity action after the opening day of the fifth annual Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Classic at Lafreniere Park on Saturday. A regional event, the classic features 32 teams at four boys' levels: varsity, junior varsity, freshman and middle school.

In addition, there will be a collegiate lacrosse showcase as the teams from Florida State University and the University of Texas will meet on Saturday evening at 7:30 p.m. at Pan Am Stadium. Admission to the college game will be $5 for adults and children. Admission will be free to anyone wearing an Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Classic shooter shirt.

The tournament has two pools at the varsity level; St. Thomas More leads the "Houma pool" at 3-0 while several teams are tied at 2-1 in the "Natchez pool". Along with St. Thomas More, the "Houma pool" features Catholic High School from Baton Rouge, Mandeville, Rummel, Brother Martin, and newcomer Taylor, from outside of Houston. The "Natchez pool" consists of Dutchtown, Jesuit, defending champion Klein from Texas, Lafayette, Ocean Springs and St. Paul's.

Tournament play will resume from 8 to 10 a..m. on Sunday. Then, at 11 a.m., the fourth at fifth placed teams from each pool will face off. The noon matchups will feature the second and third place teams from each pool, and the championship match between the top seeded teams from the "Houma" and "Natchez" pools will take place at 1 p.m., followed by an awards ceremony.

For more information on the event and other results, visit

Varsity Results
Saturday, Jan. 30

8 a.m.   Jesuit 13, Lafayette 1
            St. Thomas More 7, Mandeville 1
9 a.m.   Taylor 5, Brother Martin 2
            Klein 10, Ocean Springs 2
10 a.m.  St. Thomas More 12, Rummel 0
            St. Paul's 9, Dutchtown 2
11 a.m.  Ocean Springs 10, Lafayette 5
            Taylor 8, Catholic 0
12 p.m. Brother Martin 7, Mandeville 1
            Klein 8, St. Paul's 3
1 p.m.   Catholic 4, Rummel 4
            Dutchtown 9, Ocean Springs 3
2 p.m.   Taylor 5, Jesuit 2
            St. Paul's 9, Lafayette 3
3 p.m.   Brother Martin 7, Catholic 3
            Mandeville 7, Rummel 3
4 p.m.   St. Thomas More 6, Taylor 2
            Jesuit 4, Klein 3
Varsity Schedule
Sunday, Jan. 31
8 a.m.   St. Thomas More vs. Brother Martin
            Jesuit vs. St. Paul's
9 a.m.   Taylor vs. Mandeville
            Klein vs. Dutchtown
10 a.m. Ocean Springs vs. Jesuit
            Lafayette vs. Rummel
11 a.m. 4 vs. 4
            5 vs. 5
12 p.m. 2 vs. 2
            3 vs. 3
1 p.m.   Championship
2 p.m.   Awards Ceremony