Klein High School Remains Perfect to Claim its Fourth Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Classic Title park

 2010 Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Classic Photo Gallery

Klein High School from Houston remains the only school to own an Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Classic title as it defeated Jesuit High School from New Orleans, 4-3, in overtime on Sunday at Lafreniere Park for its fourth championship in the four-year history of the event.

Klein finished with a perfect 5-0 record in the two-day event, outscoring its opponents 38-13. The championship match began at 12:30 p.m. with Jesuit jumping ahead 2-0 in the first half. Klein battled back to tie the score at 2-2 in the second half. Then, each team exchanged goals and the defenses held up for the remainder of regulation as the game ended in a tie at 3-3.

Sudden death overtime began with five minutes on the clock. Each team fought hard, but Klein was able to defend its title scoring first to win the game, 4-3.

In junior varsity action, Brother Martin went undefeated, 5-0, with defense proving to be key, only allowing three goals the entire tournament, to win the championship against St. Thomas More.  The Crusaders were down 2-0, but battled back to win the championship by a 3-2 margin.

“They played with great heart and great intensity,” Brother Martin JV Head Coach Bob Rogers said. “They really enjoyed the tournament, had a great time out here and came through and did what they had to do to win today. Our defense was dominating and controlling the entire tournament as they only allowed three goals this weekend.”

The JV Crusaders outscored their opponents, 38-3, and their starting attack man, Michael Gervais, scored all three goals in the championship game.

Brother Martin Junior Varsity team receives its championship trophy.

Upon completion of the varsity championship game, tournament director Mac Bulloch and Allstate Sugar Bowl President Richard Smith presented each team with a participation plaque before handing out the MVP and Championship trophies.

The Offensive MVP was awarded to Dylan Reeves from Klein, while Trey Faget from Jesuit earned the Defensive MVP. The junior varsity championship trophy was presented to Brother Martin. In varsity action, Jesuit collected its runner-up title, while Klein took home its fourth-straight Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Classic Championship trophy.

Varsity Results

Saturday, Jan. 30
Jesuit (2) 3, Dutchtown 1
Jesuit (1) 8, Mandeville 4
St. Thomas More 7, Brother Martin 6
John Carroll 2, St. Paul’s 1
Klein 12, St. Thomas More 3
Mandeville 7, Rummel 1
John Carroll 9, Lafayette 0
Brother Martin 10, Dutchtown 3
Jesuit (1) 10, St. Paul’s 2
Klein 6, Brother Martin 3
Mandeville 5, John Carroll 2
St. Thomas More 9, Jesuit (2) 2
Jesuit (1) 12, Lafayette 0
Lafayette 7, Dutchtown 3
St. Paul’s 5, Rummel 3
Klein 6, Jesuit (2) 1
Lafayette 6, Rummel 4

Sunday, Jan. 31

Klein 10, Mandeville 2
Brother Martin 8, Jesuit (2) 4
St. Thomas More 12, Dutchtown 0
St. Paul’s 7, Lafayette 1
Jesuit (1) 5, John Carroll 3

Junior Varsity Results
Saturday, Jan. 30

Brother Martin 9, Mandeville 0
St. Thomas More 5, St. Paul’s 2
Jesuit 6, Mandeville 0
Brother Martin 9, St. Thomas More 0
Jesuit 3, St. Paul’s 2
St. Thomas More 6, Mandeville 2
St. Thomas More 3, Jesuit 3
Brother Martin 12, St. Paul’s 0

Sunday, Jan. 31
Brother Martin 5, Jesuit 1
St. Paul’s 0, Mandeville 0
3 vs. 4, Jesuit 5, St. Paul’s 0
1 vs. 2, Brother Martin 3, St. Thomas More 2

Freshman Results
Saturday, Jan. 30

Jesuit 9, Mandeville 1
St. Paul’s 5, Brother Martin 0
Jesuit 3, St. Paul’s 0
Brother Martin 4, Mandeville 4
Jesuit 3, Brother Martin 2
St. Paul’s 6, Mandeville 1

Sunday, Jan. 31
1 vs. 2, St. Paul’s 1, Jesuit 0

Middle School Results
Saturday, Jan. 30

CBS 7, CC 0
Mandeville 5, CC4
St. Paul’s 5, CC 3

More information on the event, as well as the sport of Lacrosse in New Orleans, is available at www.fonolox.com