Jesuit Tops St. Aug to Capture Title of Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Tournament

NEW ORLEANS (December 5, 2009) – Jesuit High School held off St. Augustine, 58-50, to win the championship of the Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Classic on Saturday evening at Jesuit High school. Jesuit’s Colby Kiefer earned the event’s Most Valuable Player honor. It was Jesuit’s first CYO Title since 2005.

2009 Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Brackets

Junior Brady Hadden led Jesuit with 17 points and 11 rebounds, while Alec Melendreras scored 13 and Kiefer added 11 points. Keifer’s defensive performance against St. Augustine’s top scorers earned him the MVP recognition.

Javan Felix led St. Augustine with 15 points, while the Purple Knights’ top offensive threats, Sydie London and Eldridge Moore, finished with 12 and seven points, respectively.

Jesuit made 19-of-20 free throws, including nine-of-10 in the final 1:30 of the contest.

Saturday Championship Result:
Jesuit 58, St. Augustine 50 (at Jesuit HS)

Saturday Consolation Bracket Results:
St. Charles 57, Holy Cross 52 (at Rummel HS)
Karr 45, St. Thomas Aquinas 32 (at Rummel HS)
Country Day 68, Brother Martin 54 (at Rummel HS)
Slidell 51, Higgins 37 (at Jesuit HS)

Friday Semifinal Results:
St. Augustine 56, Rummel 41 (at Jesuit HS)
Jesuit 65, Ellender 61 (at Jesuit HS)

Thursday (Day Two) Results:
Karr 69, St. Charles 46 (at Rummel HS)
St. Thomas Aquinas 50, Holy Cross 45 (at Brother Martin HS)
Higgins 33, Shaw 30 (at Shaw HS)
Slidell 59, St. Paul’s 42 (at Jesuit HS)
Rummel 51, Country Day 46, OT (at Rummel HS)
St. Augustine 64, Brother Martin 59 (at Brother Martin HS)
Ellender 57, Hahnville 43 (at Shaw HS)
Jesuit 56, Ehret 31 (at Jesuit HS)

Day One Results:
Country Day 65, St. Charles 44 (at Rummel HS)
Brother Martin 55, St. Thomas Aquinas 44 (at Brother Martin HS)
Ellender 64, Shaw 52 (at Shaw HS)
Jesuit 53, St. Paul’s 49 (at Jesuit HS)
Rummel 55, Karr 45 (at Rummel HS)
St. Augustine 57, Holy Cross 42 (at Brother Martin HS)
Hahnville 48, Higgins 39 (at Shaw HS)
Ehret 55, Slidell 48 (at Jesuit HS)

This year marks the 56th year of the tournament and the second year that the event has been sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

In addition to the basketball action, at halftime of the championship game, the late Johnny Altobello will be honored. Altobello won the first seven CYO tournaments as the coach at DeLaSalle and St. Aloysius (now Brother Martin). The championship trophy for the CYO Tournament will now bear his name. His family and representatives from DeLaSalle and Brother Martin will be on hand for that half-time presentation.