Iowa’s Nate Stanley Earns Manning Award Quarterback of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 9, 2017) – Nate Stanley, a sophomore from the University of Iowa, has been selected as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week. He earns the win over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Facebook contest.

Facebook Voting

Stanley completed 20-of-31 passes for 226 yards, while matching his career-high with five touchdown passes, as he led the Hawkeyes to an impressive 55-24 blowout of No. 6 Ohio State – a team that had allowed just 10 touchdown passes all season. The Menomonie, Wisc., native’s five touchdowns also tied a Kinnick Stadium record.

Stanley was also selected as a Manning Award Star of the Week after a week two victory over Iowa State and came in third in Quarterback of the Week voting. This week, the Hawkeyes left little doubt in who the winner would be as they voted for Stanley over 7,000 times – the top total of the year.

This season, Stanley has thrown 12 touchdowns and zero interceptions against AP Top-25 opponents (Ohio State, Michigan State, Penn State, Iowa State). Overall, he has 22 touchdown passes with just four interceptions – he is the first Iowa quarterback to throw 20 or more touchdown passes in a season since 2011.

Stanley gets another shot at a Top-25 team this weekend as the 25th-ranked Hawkeyes travel to his home state on Saturday to face sixth-ranked Wisconsin at 2:30 p.m. CT on ABC.

Stanley’s top competitors this week were Army’s Ahmad Bradshaw and Baker Mayfield of Oklahoma. Despite not throwing a single pass, Bradshaw had a major impact on the ground as he ran for a career-high 265 yards (on 23 carries) and a score as the Black Knights shut down Air Force, 21-0. Mayfield completed 24-of-36 passes for 598 yards and five touchdowns, while adding one rushing score and registering a school-record in passing yards, as he led the Sooners to a huge 62-52 victory in a wild Bedlam showdown with No. 11 Oklahoma State.

Manning Award

Ten finalists for the Manning Award will be announced on Thursday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 13 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) lead the way with four Manning Award wins each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-one players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2016 season.