Allstate Sugar Bowl To Sponsor Seven Amateur Athletic Events in February

Allstate Sugar Bowl To Sponsor Seven Amateur Athletic Events in February

NEW ORLEANS (February 5, 2018) – The Allstate Sugar Bowl will sponsor seven amateur athletic events in February. The Bowl hosts and sponsors over 50 events on an annual basis, supporting nearly 100,000 young athletes in the state. The February events include four Louisiana High School Athletic Association (LHSAA) Championships, two University of New Orleans events, and the Allstate Sugar Bowl Intercollegiate Golf Championship. Through all of the Sugar Bowl’s activities, it has injected over $2.5 billion into the local and regional economies in the past decade.

The four LHSAA Championships are the Wrestling Championships (Feb. 16-17 in Bossier City), the Indoor Track Championships (Feb. 17 in Baton Rouge), the Soccer Championships (Feb. 21-24 in Lafayette) and the Girls’ Basketball Championships (Feb. 26-March 3 in Alexandria), wrapping up on March 4. The Allstate Sugar Bowl has sponsored the LHSAA since 2014 and has had the opportunity to recognize 399 team champions from 136 different schools.

As part of its sponsorship of UNO Athletics, the Sugar Bowl will be the presenting sponsor of the school’s annual Homecoming basketball games on Saturday, February 17. The men’s and women’s basketball teams will both host McNeese State at Lakefront Arena with the women’s game tipping off at 2 p.m. and the men following at 4:15 p.m. In addition, the Sugar Bowl and UNO will team up for the Allstate Sugar Bowl Baseball Classic from February 23-25.

Allstate Sugar Bowl Baseball Classic

Friday, February 23
12:30 p.m.: Iowa vs. Virginia Tech
6:30 p.m.: UNO vs. Ball State

Saturday, February 24
2 p.m.: UNO vs. Virginia Tech
7 p.m.: Ball State vs. Iowa

Sunday, February 25
10 a.m.: Ball State vs. Virginia Tech
1 p.m.: UNO vs. Iowa

The Allstate Sugar Bowl Intercollegiate Golf Championship, hosted by Tulane University, will celebrate its eighth year in 2018. The event, featuring many of the top women’s collegiate golf programs in the nation, will be played from February 18-20 at English Turn Golf & Country Club.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 93 Hall of Fame players, 49 Hall of Fame coaches and 18 Heisman Trophy winners in its 84-year history. The 85th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, featuring top teams from the Big 12 and the SEC, will be played on January 1, 2019. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.6 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors nearly 100,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.5 billion into the local economy in the last decade.