Allstate Sugar Bowl Recognizes 24 Individuals and Four Teams for 2019-20

NEW ORLEANS (June 12, 2020) – The Allstate Sugar Bowl’s annual awards program has recognized 24 individuals and four teams for their outstanding accomplishments on and off the field in 2019-20. Each of the award winners are selected by the Greater New Orleans Sports Awards Committee.

The Greater New Orleans Sports Awards Committee began in 1957 when James Collins spearheaded a group of sports journalists to form a sports awards committee to immortalize local sports history. For 13 years, the committee honored local athletes each month. In 1970, the Sugar Bowl stepped in to sponsor and revitalize the committee, leading to the creation of the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame in 1971, honoring 10 legends from the Crescent City in its first induction class. While adding the responsibility of selecting Hall of Famers, the committee has continued to recognize the top amateur athlete in the Greater New Orleans area each month – 2020 marks the 64th year of the program. To be eligible, an athlete must be a native of the greater New Orleans area or must compete for a team in the metropolitan region.

All of the honorees were recognized via social media over the past month. Details on a potential awards banquet remain on hold due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

James J. Corbett Awards
Female: Tonea Marshall, LSU Track & Field
Male: Joe Burrow, LSU Football

Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2020 Inductees
Perry Clark, Tulane Basketball
Tim Floyd, UNO Basketball
Rick Jones, Tulane Baseball
Craig Perret, Horse Racing
Ashley Tappin-Doussan, Swimming

Eddie Robinson Award
Keeshawn Davenport, UNO Basketball

Jimmy Collins Special Awards
Demario Davis, New Orleans Saints
Eastbank Little League, Baseball & Softball

Yearly Award Winners
Outstanding Girls’ Prep Coach of the Year, New Orleans: Lakenya Reed, Booker T. Washington Basketball
Outstanding Boys’ Prep Coach of the Year, New Orleans: Nick Monica, Archbishop Rummel Football
Outstanding Female Amateur Athlete, New Orleans: Angela Charles-Alfred, Xavier University Tennis
Outstanding Male Amateur Athlete, New Orleans: Ja’Marr Chase, LSU Football
Outstanding Boys’ Prep Team, New Orleans: St. James High School Football
Outstanding Girls’ Prep Team, New Orleans: Metairie Park Country Day School Volleyball
Outstanding Collegiate Coach, Louisiana: Ed Orgeron, LSU Football

Greater New Orleans Amateur Athletes of the Month
June, 2019: Nick Lorio, Pedal Valves Cardinals Legion Baseball
July, 2019: Raven Nunnery, John Curtis Christian Track
August, 2019: Reece Roussel, Eastbank Little League Baseball
September, 2019: Christian Westcott, Lakeshore High School Football
October, 2019: Angela Charles-Alfred, Xavier University Tennis
November, 2019: Ja’Marr Chase, LSU Football
December, 2019: Donovan Kaufman, Archbishop Rummel Football
January, 2020: Jared Butler, Baylor University Basketball
February, 2020: Braden Olthoff, Tulane University Baseball
March, 2020: William Loyd, Xavier University Basketball

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 96 Hall of Fame players, 50 Hall of Fame coaches and 18 Heisman Trophy winners in its 86-year history. The 87th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, which will double as a College Football Playoff Semifinal, is scheduled to be played on January 1, 2021. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.6 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors over 100,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.7 billion into the local economy in the last decade.