Washington State’s Gardner Minshew Earns Manning Award Quarterback of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 22, 2018) – Gardner Minshew, a senior from Washington State, has been selected as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week. He earns his third win of the season over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s social media contest.

Facebook Voting

Minshew, one of only two repeat winners this season, completed 43-of-55 passes for 473 yards and seven touchdowns, marking his career-highs for touchdowns and passing yards while notching his eighth career 400-yard game, led the Cougars to a 69-28 Pac-12 win over Arizona – it was WSU’s 10th win of the season, matching the school record.

The Brandon, Miss., native has thrown for an NCAA-best 4,325 yards while completing 70.4 percent of his pass attempts. In addition to leading the nation in passing yards, the senior transfer also ranks first in total offense per game, completions per game and touchdown passes.

Minshew is a graduate transfer who played the past two seasons at East Carolina. He was also selected as a Manning Award Star of the Week last year while playing for the Pirates. The No. 8 Cougars host No. 16 Washington Friday night in the Boeing Apple Cup Series at 7:30 p.m. CT on Fox. For the third straight season, the Cougars enter the Apple Cup with an opportunity to claim the Pac-12 North Division with a win over UW. The Apple Cup winner will face Utah in the Pac-12 Championship Game next Friday in Santa Clara, Calif.

Minshew’s top competitors were McKenzie Milton of UCF and Wyoming’s Tyler Vander Waal. Milton completed 13-of-25 passes for 268 yards and three touchdowns, while adding a rushing score and marking his fifth four-touchdown game of the year as he led the Knights to a 38-13 AAC victory over No. 24 Cincinnati. Vander Waal came off the bench and rushed for two touchdowns while tallying career-bests in passing yards and touchdowns, including a 22-yard go-ahead TD with 1:09 to go, as the Cowboys scored 21 unanswered points in the final 4:32 of the game to shock Air Force, 35-27, in MW action.

In its first 14 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) joins the Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) with four Manning Award winners each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (McCoy and Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.