Sugar Bowl Track & Field Classic Recap 2011


Events Wrap Up at the 2011 Allstate Sugar Bowl Track & Field Classic

NEW ORLEANS (March 26, 2011) – St. Paul’s Episcopal of Alabama and Pearl High School of Mississippi earned the 2011 Allstate Sugar Bowl Track and Field Classic titles on March 25-26 at Tad Gormley Stadium. St. Paul’s Episcopal claimed the girls’ team title with 101 points and Pearl High School’s 74 points earned the boys’ team title.

Allstate Sugar Bowl Track & Field Classic Results 2011

McGill-Toolen (Mobile, Ala.) took home girls’ team runner-up honors with 53 points while John Curtis Christian’s 70 points landed them second in the boys’ events. The 4×400 meter relay was the deciding factor for the boys’ title as Pearl and John Curtis entered the final event tied.

The outstanding performer awards for the 2011 Classic went to four deserving Louisiana athletes.

John Curtis’ Dalton Duvio vaulted to a new meet record of 17’01”, the number two mark in the nation at this stage of the season, earning him the boys’ Outstanding Field Performer award. South Plaquemines’ Bradley Sylve took the 100m (10.24) in meet record time and the 200m (21.25) to claim the boys’ Outstanding Track Performer award.

For the girls, Mandeville’s Nichole Freeman captured both the javelin (137’10”) and discus (105’05”) titles to earn girls’ Outstanding Field Performer. McDonogh 35 freshman Marcquita Stalbert was a triple sprint winner (100m, 200m, 400m), a first in the 18-year history of the event, earning her the girls’ Outstanding Track Performer award.

Dalton Duvio – John Curtis Christian (LA) – 17’01” Pole Vault – #2 National and new meet record
Dylan Duvio – John Curtis Christian (LA) – 15’00” Pole Vault
Bradley Sylve – South Plaquemines (LA) – 10.24 100m and 21.25 200m double – 10.24 in 100m is new meet record
Adam Julien – Lusher Charter (LA) – 48.23 400m
McDonongh 35 (LA) – 4×200 meter relay – 1:27.80
Josh Sigler – Murphy (AL) – 22’08” Long Jump and 46-6.5 Triple Jump

Marcquita Stalbert – McDonogh 35 – 11.98 100m, 24.80 200m and 56.31 400m triple – first triple sprint winner in event history
Carmen Carlos – McGill Toolen (AL) – 5:01.03 – successfully defended her title from last year’s meet and set a new meet record in the process
McGill Toolen (AL) – 4×800 meter relay – 9:28.87 – new meet record