Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl took on sponsorship of the New Orleans CYO High School Tournament in 2008. The 2016 event, celebrating its 63rd year of action, is scheduled for Wednesday, November 30 through Saturday, December 3 at four local high schools.

In last year’s event, Devonte Allen capped off an MVP performance by knocking down the game-winning shot to lift St. Paul’s to a 81-79 victory over De La Salle to lift his school to its first-ever championship.

The Wolves defeated St. Thomas Aquinas, 79-59 in the opening round, then upended East St. John, 77-60 in the quarterfinals. They stopped Chalmette, 72-63, in the semifinals to advance to the championship game.

In addition to Allen being named MVP, St. Paul’s collected all-tournament honors for Harrison Prieto and Parker Edwards. De La Salle was represented on the all-tourney team by Stephen Kelly and David Williams. Also earning all-tourney honors were Mitchell Robinson (Chalmette) and Devante Jones (St. Augustine).

All-Tournament Team
Devonte Allen, St. Paul’s (MVP)
Harrison Prieto, St. Paul’s
Parker Edwards, St. Paul’s
Stephen Kelly, De La Salle
David Williams, De La Salle
Mitchell Robinson, Chalmette
Devante Jones, St. Augustine

2015: Devonte Allen Leads St. Paul’s to First Sugar Bowl CYO Title
2014: East St. John Earns First-Ever Sugar Bowl CYO Title
2013: East Jefferson Captures Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Title
2012: Overtime Shot Lifts Newman to Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Title
2011: Purple Knights Win Second Straight Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Title
2010: St. Augustine Edges Brother Martin for Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Championship
2009: Jesuit Tops St. Aug for Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Title
2008: O. Perry Walker Wins Championship of Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Tournament

Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo