ESPNU To Highlight Sugar Bowl Legend Johnny Majors on Friday

NEW ORLEANS (July 1, 2020) – ESPNU will highlight the career of Sugar Bowl legend Johnny Majors this Friday (July 3) evening with five hours of Majors tribute coverage. The main feature is a new hour-long documentary on the College Football Hall of Famer while the network will also re-air two of his Sugar Bowl coaching victories.

Majors, who is a member of the inaugural class of the Sugar Bowl Hall of Fame, passed away on June 3 at the age of 85.

The documentary, “Johnny Majors: Straight Ahead,” celebrating the life and legacy of the late Tennessee legend will debut at 7 p.m. CT. The VFL Films produced documentary will feature interviews with former Vol players and coaches and take a look at the storied career of Majors, which began in 1954 as a player and continued as head coach in 1977.

The network’s Johnny Majors programming will begin with Tennessee’s 1991 Sugar Bowl comeback victory over Virginia at 5 p.m. CT. The Vols used a 20-point fourth quarter and a pair of Tony Thompson touchdowns to rally for a 23-22 win to cap the program’s 100th anniversary season in Majors’ 14th year as head coach.

Following the documentary, the network will show the 1977 Sugar Bowl featuring Majors’ Pitt team defeating Georgia. That game included the memorable performance by Tony Dorsett, who ran for a then-Sugar Bowl record 202 yards in the victory that capped an undefeated national championship season for the Panthers.

ESPNU Johnny Majors Schedule, Friday, July 3
5 p.m.             1991 Sugar Bowl                       Tennessee vs. Virginia
7 p.m.             Johnny Majors: Straight Ahead
8 p.m.             1977 Sugar Bowl                       Pittsburgh vs. Georgia

Majors made his Sugar Bowl debut as a player for the Volunteers in the 1957 Sugar Bowl. The Heisman Trophy runner-up was bottled up by a tenacious Baylor defense, but he still managed 51 rushing yards and a key touchdown in a 13-7 loss. In addition to his head coaching victories in the 1977 and 1991 Sugar Bowls, Majors directed the Volunteers to a 35-7 upset of No. 2 Miami in the 1986 Sugar Bowl.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 96 Hall of Fame players, 50 Hall of Fame coaches and 18 Heisman Trophy winners in its 86-year history. The 87th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, which will double as a College Football Playoff Semifinal, is scheduled to be played on January 1, 2021. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.6 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors over 100,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.7 billion into the local economy in the last decade.