Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

Fans Vote on Facebook to Select Overall Manning Player of the Week


NEW ORLEANS (September 5) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Zach Abey, Navy (3-of-10, 110 yards, 1 TD, 1 INT, QBR: 94.7)
Abey sets the American Athletic Conference record for rushing yards by a quarterback with 235 on 32 carries, including two touchdowns, in a 42-19 road win over FAU.

Ross Bowers, California (24-of-38, 363 yards, 4 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 75.9)
After entering the game having never thrown a collegiate pass, Bowers throws for 363 yards in a 35-30 road upset of North Carolina.

TaQuon Marshall, Georgia Tech (5-of-9, 120 yards, 0 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 82.3)
Marshall rushes 44 times for 249 yards (a school record for quarterbacks) and five touchdowns as the Yellow Jacket drop a double-overtime thriller to Tennessee, 42-41.

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (19-of-20, 329 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.9)
Mayfield completes a school-record 16 straight passes to open the game and tallies his third career half with 300-plus yards (he only plays in the first half) as the Sooners cruise to a 56-7 win over UTEP.

Shea Patterson, Ole Miss (28-of-35, 429 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 92.3)
Patterson tallies a career-high in passing yards (third most in school history) and TD passes, including a pair of 70-plus yard scores, as he leads the Rebels to a 47-27 victory over South Alabama.

Josh Rosen, UCLA (35-of-59, 491 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 58.8)
Rosen throws for 292 yards and all four of his touchdown passes in an amazing fourth-quarter which caps a run of 35 straight points as the Bruins erase a 44-10 deficit to defeat Texas A&M, 45-44.

Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State (20-of-24, 303 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.7)
Rudolph tallies the 13th 300-yard game of his career and also rushes for a TD in a 59-24 blowout of Tulsa.

Kyle Shurmur, Vanderbilt (20-of-28, 296 yards, 3 TDs, QBR: 98.5)
Shurmur completes 13 of his first 14 attempts and matches his career-high for touchdown passes as he leads the Commodores to a 28-6 road victory over Middle Tennessee State.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 13 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) lead the way with four Manning Award wins each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-one players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2016 season.