Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

Fans Vote on Facebook to Select Overall Manning Player of the Week


NEW ORLEANS (October 30) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

J.T. Barrett, Ohio State (33-of-39, 328 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 89.4)
Barrett, who also rushes for a game-high 95 yards, is 13-of-13 for 170 yards in the fourth quarter, including a 16-yard touchdown pass with 1:48 to go as the Buckeyes erase a 15-point fourth-quarter deficit in a thrilling 39-38 win over No. 2 Penn State.

Tanner Lee, Nebraska (32-of-50, 431 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 72.4)
Lee connects on a pair of fourth-quarter touchdowns, including a 13-yard delivery with 14 seconds to go as the Cornhuskers come from behind to beat Purdue, 25-24, on the road in Big Ten action.

Drew Lock, Missouri (31-of-37, 377 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 86.0)
Lock has his fourth 300-yard game of the year as he leads the Tigers to a 52-12 blowout of UConn, their first road win in two years.

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (22-of-34, 281 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 72.6)
Mayfield, who also runs for a touchdown, matches his season-best for TD passes in a 49-27 Big 12 win over Texas Tech.

Steven Montez, Colorado (20-of-26, 347 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.5)
Montez, who tallies his second 300-yard game of the year, also runs for a touchdown as the Buffaloes defeat Pac-12 rival California, 44-28.

Khalil Tate, Arizona (10-of-17, 275 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 95.8)
Tate also rushes for 146 yards and a touchdown, his fourth straight 100-yard game, as he leads the Wildcats to a 58-27 Pac-12 win over No. 15 Washington State – Arizona’s fourth straight win since Tate took over at quarterback.

Clayton Thorson, Northwestern (33-of-48, 356 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 87.3)
Thorson has his third 300-yard game of the season while connecting on two TD passes in overtime as the Wildcats stun No. 16 Michigan State, 39-31.

John Wolford, Wake Forest (28-of-34, 461 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.9)
Wolford matches the school record for touchdowns and tallies a career-high in passing yards, the most yards at Wake Forest in 19 years, as he leads the Demon Deacons to a 42-32 ACC win over Louisville.


While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 13 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) lead the way with four Manning Award wins each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-one players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2016 season.