Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

Fans Vote on Facebook to Select Overall Manning Player of the Week


NEW ORLEANS (October 23) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Anthony Brown, Boston College (19-of-24, 275 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.8)
Brown tallies career-bests in passing yards and touchdowns as he leads the Eagles to a 41-10 victory over ACC rival Virginia, which came in with a 5-1 record.

Jason Driskel, Florida Atlantic (24-of-35, 357 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.2)
Driskel, who also runs for a score, tallies career-highs in passing yards and touchdowns as he leads the Owls to scores on their first 11 drives and a C-USA record 804 yards as they roll over North Texas, 69-31.

Lamar Jackson, Louisville (13-of-21, 156 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 93.0)
Jackson adds 178 yards and a touchdown on the ground and he sets up a game-winning field goal in a 31-28 ACC road win over Florida State.

Drew Lock, Missouri (23-of-33, 467 yards, 6 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 96.3)
Lock leads the Tigers to five first-quarter touchdowns and a total of 658 yards as Mizzou rolls over Idaho, 68-21.

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (32-of-41, 410 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 94.6)
Mayfield, who also runs for a pair of touchdowns, helps the Sooners overcome a 21-10 halftime deficit to upend Kansas State in an 42-35 thriller on the road in Big 12 action.

Trace McSorley, Penn State (17-of-26, 282 yards, 1 TD, 1 INT, QBR: 92.9)
McSorley, who also rushes for 76 yards and a career-high three touchdowns, helps the Nittany Lions pile up 506 yards against one of the nation’s top defenses in a 42-13 win over No. 18 Michigan.

Brandon Wimbush, Notre Dame (9-of-19, 120 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 88.2)
Wimbush also runs for 106 yards and two touchdowns as the Fighting Irish roll to a 49-14 win over No. 11 USC.

Logan Woodside, Toledo (17-of-24, 304 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 89.2)
Woodside tallies his fourth career five-TD game as he leads the Rockets to a 48-21 MAC victory over Akron.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 13 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) lead the way with four Manning Award wins each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-one players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2016 season.