Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

Fans Vote on Facebook to Select Overall Manning Player of the Week


NEW ORLEANS (October 16) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

J.T. Barrett, Ohio State (27-of-33, 325 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.4)
Barrett also runs for 48 yards and two touchdowns as he leads the Buckeyes to touchdowns on eight straight drives before leaving the game early in the fourth quarter of a 56-14 road win over Nebraska in Big Ten play.

Eric Dungey, Syracuse (20-of-32, 278 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 84.7)
Dungey, who also runs for 68 yards, keys the Orange’s first-ever win over the No. 2 team in the nation as they top defending national champion Clemson, 27-24, in ACC action.

Mason Fine, North Texas (20-of-34, 354 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 80.1)
Fine, who also rushes for a touchdown, tosses a 22-yard TD pass with 10 seconds to go to lift the Mean Green to a 29-26 win over UTSA as they remain perfect in C-USA action.

Will Grier, West Virginia (32-of-41, 352 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 75.3)
Grier throws four touchdowns in the final 20:07 of the game as the Mountaineers scored four unanswered touchdowns to erase a 35-17 deficit in a 46-35 Big 12 win over No. 24 Texas Tech.

Justice Hansen, Arkansas State (24-of-37, 286 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 80.5)
Hansen, who also rushes for 68 yards, ties his own school-record for TD passes as he leads the Red Wolves to a 51-17 victory over Coastal Carolina in Sun Belt action.

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (17-of-27, 302 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 79.5)
Mayfield shakes off a second-half injury to connect on a 59-yard scoring strike which proves to be the difference with 6:53 to go in a 29-24 win over Texas in the Red River Rivalry.

Conner Manning, Georgia State (26-of-35, 446 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 90.1)
Manning registers career-bests in passing yards and touchdowns as he leads the Panthers to a school-record 670 yards in a 47-37 Sun Belt road win over UL Monroe, which had been perfect in league play. 

Khalil Tate, Arizona (9-of-13, 148 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 98.5)
Tate runs for 230 yards and two TDs, his second straight 200-yard rushing game, as he leads the Wildcats to a 47-30 Pac-12 win over UCLA.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 13 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) lead the way with four Manning Award wins each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-one players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2016 season.