Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

Fans Vote on Facebook to Select Overall Manning Player of the Week


NEW ORLEANS (October 9) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Zach Abey, Navy (4-of-11, 86 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 73.2)
Abey rushes 29 times for 214 yards and two touchdowns and then delivers a 16-yard touchdown pass with 15 seconds remaining to lift the Midshipmen to a thrilling 48-45 win over Air Force.

Drew Anderson, Buffalo (35-of-61, 597 yards, 7 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 85.0)
Anderson, making his second career-start, records massive passing statistics, as well as rushing for a TD, while leading the Bulls to the FBS record for points in a losing effort as they fall 71-68 to Western Michigan in seven overtimes.

Caleb Evans, UL Monroe (24-of-37, 433 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 87.0)
Evans, who also runs for a score, posts career-highs in passing yards and touchdowns as he leads the Warhawks to a 45-27 Sun Belt road win over Texas State.

Riley Ferguson, Memphis (34-of-48, 431 yards, 7 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 82.4)
Ferguson registers career-highs in passing yards and touchdowns, matching the school and AAC record in TDs, as he leads the Tigers to a 70-31 blowout of Connecticut on the road in AAC action. 

Ryan Finley, N.C. State (20-of-31, 367 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 87.4)
Finley directs an offense that included three different receivers with 99 or more yards as the Wolfpack posts an impressive 39-25 victory over No. 17 Louisville in ACC action.

Kyle Kempt, Iowa State (18-of-24, 343 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.8)
Kempt, a redshirt senior walk-on, makes his first career start (he had thrown two career passes) and leads the Cyclones to a shocking 38-31 upset of No. 3 Oklahoma on the road in Big 12 play.

McKenzie Milton, UCF (16-of-19, 374 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.9)
Milton tallies career-highs in passing yards and touchdowns in three quarters of action as he leads the Knights, who are 4-0 for the first time since 1988, to scores on every possession in a 51-23 AAC road win over Cincinnati.

Khalil Tate, Arizona (12-of-13, 154 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 100.0)
Tate comes off the bench to replace the Wildcats’ injured starter and proceeds to set the FBS record for rushing yards by a quarterback, tallying 327 yards on just 14 carries (23.4 yards per carry), including TD runs of 58, 28, 47 and 75 yards, in a 45-42 Pac-12 road victory over Colorado.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 13 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) lead the way with four Manning Award wins each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-one players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2016 season.