Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

Fans Vote on Facebook to Select Overall Manning Player of the Week


NEW ORLEANS (October 2) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Max Browne, Pittsburgh (28-of-32, 410 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.6)
Browne completes his first nine passes on the way to a career-high in passing yards and touchdowns as he leads the Panthers to a 42-10 win over Rice.

Kelly Bryant, Clemson (12-of-21, 186 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 86.7)
Bryant also rushes for 94 yards as he leads the Tigers to a 31-17 ACC road victory over No. 12 Virginia Tech, their third victory over a Top-20 team this season.

Luke Falk, Washington State (34-of-51, 340 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 69.9)
Falk, who becomes the Pac-12’s all-time leader in completions, completes 10-of-12 fourth-quarter passes for 90 yards as he helps the Cougars snap a 15-game home losing streak to ranked opponents with a 30-27 upset of No. 5 USC.

Jalen Hurts, Alabama (12-of-19, 197 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 95.9)
Hurts also runs for 101 yards and a touchdown as he leads the Crimson Tide to their most points since 1979 in a 66-3 SEC victory over Ole Miss.

Chase Litton, Marshall (21-of-34, 233 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 90.0)
Litton, who has thrown TD passes in 25 straight games, helps the Thundering Herd jump to a 24-0 lead as it defeats Cincinnati, 38-21, for its first road win since Oct. 31, 2015.

Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State (27-of-38, 376 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 86.1)
Rudolph has another big passing day, but also rushes for 50 yards and two touchdowns including the go-ahead score with 1:12 to go in a 41-34 Big 12 road victory over previously undefeated Texas Tech.

Nick Stevens, Colorado State (18-of-22, 351 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.4)
Stevens has season-highs in almost all categories as the Rams go on the road to top Hawaii, 51-21, in MW play.

Jarrett Stidham, Auburn (13-of-16, 264 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.3)
Stidham, who has his third straight game with a completion percentage over 75 percent, directs a potent Tiger offense which cruises to a 49-10 victory over No. 24 Mississippi State in SEC action.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 13 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) lead the way with four Manning Award wins each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-one players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2016 season.