Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

Fans Vote on Facebook to Select Overall Manning Player of the Week


NEW ORLEANS (September 25) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Kurt Benkert, Virginia (19-of-29, 273 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 91.3)
Benkert helps lift the Cavaliers to their third win of the season, surpassing last year’s total, as they go on the road for a 42-23 victory, the worst home loss for Boise State since 2001.

Caleb Evans, UL Monroe (28-of-34, 343 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 92.5)
Evans, who sets career-highs in completions and passing yards, also runs for 129 yards while tying the school-record with five touchdowns as he leads the Warhawks to a 56-50 double overtime win on the road in Sun Belt action against Louisiana.

Luke Falk, Washington State (36-of-47, 478 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 75.6)
Falk tallies his ninth career five-touchdown game as he leads the Cougars to a 45-7 win over winless Nevada to give them their best start (4-0) since 2001.

Ryan Finley, N.C. State (22-of-32, 230 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 92.5)
Finley, who connected on a 71-yard touchdown pass late in the first half, leads the Wolfpack to a 27-21 win over No. 12 Florida State, its first win over a ranked team since 2008.

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (13-of-19, 283 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 86.5)
Mayfield helps Sooners top Baylor, 49-41, in a Big 12 road game as Oklahoma matches a school record with its 17th straight Big 12 victory.

Kellen Mond, Texas A&M (14-of-27, 216 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 84.3)
Mond, who also adds 109 rushing yards, sets up a game-tying field goal with four seconds to go in regulation and then connects on a 10-yard touchdown pass in overtime as the Aggies upend Arkansas, 50-43 on the road.

Nathan Rourke, Ohio (19-of-32, 197 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 64.6)
Rourke connects on both of his touchdown passes in the overtime periods as the Bobcats pick up a key MAC road win over Eastern Michigan, 27-20, in double overtime.

Zach Smith, Baylor (33-of-50, 463 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 83.3)
Smith notches career-highs in nearly all categories while connecting on a pair of 70-plus yard touchdown passes as he helps the underdog Bears give a major scare to No. 3 Oklahoma in a 49-41 loss.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 13 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) lead the way with four Manning Award wins each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-one players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2016 season.