Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

Fans Vote on Facebook to Select Overall Manning Player of the Week


NEW ORLEANS (September 18) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Luke Falk, Washington State (37-of-49, 396 yards, 6 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 78.1)
Falk matches the school-record for touchdown passes as he leads the Cougars to a 52-23 blowout of Pac-12 rival Oregon State.

Riley Ferguson, Memphis (23-of-38, 398 yards, 6 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 87.8)
Ferguson matches his career-high for touchdown passes and leads the Tigers to a 48-45 win over No. 25 UCLA, the third straight season Memphis has upset a ranked opponent.

Nick Fitzgerald, Mississippi State (15-of-23, 180 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 89.6)
Fitzgerald also rushes for 88 yards and two touchdowns as he helps the Bulldogs to a 37-7 win over SEC rival LSU, their biggest margin of victory in the 111 years of the series.

Kenny Hill, TCU (24-of-30, 365 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.8)
Trailing 19-7 in the second quarter, Hill connects on three TD passes in the final seven-and-a-half minutes of the half as he leads the Horned Frogs to a 56-36 win over rival SMU.

Josh Jackson, Virginia Tech (24-of-31, 372 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 90.4)
After trailing 17-7, Jackson, who tallies career-highs in yards (setting a school record for passing yards by a freshman) and touchdowns, leads a Hokie eruption of 64 unanswered points in a 64-17 win over East Carolina.

Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State (23-of-32, 497 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 96.6)
Rudolph, who only plays two-and-a-half quarters, sets up four different receivers with 100-yard games as he leads the Cowboys to a school record 516 total yards in the first half of a 59-21 road blowout of Pittsburgh.

Nic Shimonek, Texas Tech (37-of-50, 543 yards, 6 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.1)
Making his second career start, Shimonek sets career-highs in nearly all categories and sets up the Red Raiders for the game-winning score with 1:55 to go in a 52-45 win over Arizona State.

Logan Woodside, Toledo (22-of-33, 458 yards, 6 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 85.2)
Woodside matches the school record for touchdown passes, including connecting for fourth-quarter scores of 49 yards and 74 yards, as the Rockets come from behind for a 54-51 win over Tulsa.


While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 13 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) lead the way with four Manning Award wins each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-one players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2016 season.