Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

Fans Vote on Facebook to Select Overall Manning Player of the Week


NEW ORLEANS (November 27) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Wednesday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Danny Etling, LSU (19-of-30, 347 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.3)
Etling has his most yards during his LSU tenure, connecting on six passes of more than 25 yards, as he leads the Tigers to a 45-21 SEC win over Texas A&M, their sixth win in their last seven games.

Quinton Flowers, USF (24-of-45, 503 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 85.8)
Flowers, who sets the school record for passing yards, also runs for 102 yards (and a TD) to set the USF total offense record as the Bulls come up just short in a 49-42 loss to No. 15 UCF.

Justice Hansen, Arkansas State (26-of-38, 520 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 93.4)
Hansen, who adds a pair of rushing touchdowns, sets school records for passing yards and total offense (550) while leading the Red Wolves to a Sun Belt record 781 yards of offense in a 67-50 win over UL Monroe.

Drew Lock, Missouri (25-of-42, 448 yards, 5 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 85.2)
Lock tallies his third 400-yard game of the year and sets the SEC season record for touchdown passes (43) in a 48-45 road win over Arkansas, the Tigers’ sixth straight victory.

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (14-of-17, 281 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 99.1)
Mayfield leads the Sooners to touchdowns on all six drives that he plays in a 59-31 win over West Virginia.

Kenny Pickett, Pitt (18-of-29, 193 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 92.1)
Pickett making his first career start, also runs for 60 yards and two touchdowns, as the Panthers upset No. 2 Miami, 24-14.

Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State (31-of-43, 438 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 86.4)
Rudolph, who also runs for a pair of touchdowns, tallies his fifth 400-yard effort of the year in a 58-17 victory over Kansas.

Jarrett Stidham, Auburn (21-of-28, 237 yards, 0 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 88.0)
Stidham, who also runs for 51 yards and a touchdown, becomes the first quarterback since 2012 to complete 75% of his passes against Alabama as the Tigers upset the No. 1 Crimson Tide, 26-14.


Ten finalists for the Manning Award will be announced this Thursday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 13 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) lead the way with four Manning Award wins each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-one players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2016 season.