Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

Fans Vote on Facebook to Select Overall Manning Player of the Week


NEW ORLEANS (November 20) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Wednesday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Riley Ferguson, Memphis (21-of-27, 320 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 94.2)
Ferguson also runs for three touchdowns as the Tigers score 21 points in the fourth quarter to clinch the AAC West Division title with a 66-45 win over SMU.

Mason Fine, North Texas (24-of-36, 386 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 85.0)
Fine, who tallies his fifth 300-yard game of the year, leads the Mean Green 46 yards while converting a pair of third downs to set up the game-winning field goal with five seconds to go in a 52-49 win over Army.

Lamar Jackson, Louisville (14-of-26, 270 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 92.8)
Jackson, who also rushes for 111 yards and two touchdowns, becomes Louisville’s all-time leader in yardage (12,474) as he leads the Cardinals to a 56-10 ACC victory over Syracuse.

McKenzie Milton, UCF (16-of-23, 208 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 91.5)
Milton, who adds a rushing touchdown to give him a career-best five overall TDs, helps the undefeated Knights to their seventh game of 40 or more points in a 45-19 AAC road win over Temple.

Gardner Minshew, East Carolina (31-of-45, 444 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 85.7)
Minshew, making his fourth start of the year, tallies his second 400-yard game while recording a career-best in TD passes, including a school-record 95-yarder, as the Pirates roll over AAC rival Cincinnati, 48-20.

Armani Rogers, UNLV (13-of-25, 211 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 65.5)
Rogers, who also runs for a career-best 193 yards and a touchdown, connects on a 14-yard TD with 25 seconds to go as the Rebels pick up a 38-35 MW road win over New Mexico.

Brett Rypien, Boise State (16-of-22, 300 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 91.3)
Rypien has his second straight 300-yard game as he carves up the nation’s top-ranked passing defense in a 44-19 MW win over Air Force.

Skylar Thompson, Kansas State (10-of-13, 204 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 92.7)
Thompson, making his second career start, records career-bests in passing yards, rushing yards (93 with a TD) and touchdowns as he leads the Wildcats to a 45-40 upset of No. 13 Oklahoma State in a Big 12 road game.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 13 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) lead the way with four Manning Award wins each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-one players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2016 season.