Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

Fans Vote on Facebook to Select Overall Manning Player of the Week


NEW ORLEANS (November 13) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Demry Croft, Minnesota (9-of-15, 105 yards, 0 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 99.8)
Croft sets the Minnesota record for rushing yards by a quarterback with 183 (on 10 carries), including three touchdowns, as he leads the Gophers to their most points in a Big Ten game since 2006 in a 54-21 win over Nebraska.

Kwadra Griggs, Southern Miss (22-of-31, 331 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 86.7)
Griggs registers a career-high in passing yards as he leads the Golden Eagles to bowl eligibility with a 43-34 C-USA road victory over Rice.

Lamar Jackson, Louisville (15-of-26, 195 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 95.4)
Jackson also rushes for 147 yards, his seventh time this year tallying 100 yards rushing and passing, as the Cardinals roll to a 38-21 ACC win over Virginia.

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (18-of-27, 333 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 95.7)
Mayfield, who also rushes for 50 yards, leads his team to 533 total yards against the nation’s sixth-ranked defense as the Sooners cruise to a 38-20 Big 12 victory over No. 6 TCU.

Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State (25-of-31, 376 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.9)
Rudolph has his eighth 300-yard game of the year and connects on two touchdowns in the final 5:55 as the Cowboys win a shootout over Iowa State, 49-42.

Nick Starkel, Texas A&M (21-of-30, 416 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.8)
Starkel, making his first start since being injured in the season-opener, records his career-high in passing yards and touchdowns while playing only one half of a 55-14 blowout of non-conference foe New Mexico.

Jordan Ta’amu, Ole Miss (28-of-36, 418 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT QBR: 96.0)
Ta’amu, making his third career start, also rushes for two touchdowns as he leads the Rebels to a 50-22 non-conference win over Louisiana.

John Wolford, Wake Forest (25-of-38, 363 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 95.1)
Wolford also rushes for 136 yards and three more touchdowns as the Demon Deacons close the game with a 37-2 run to come from behind in a 64-43 ACC road win over Syracuse.


While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 13 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) lead the way with four Manning Award wins each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-one players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2016 season.