Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

Fans Vote on Facebook to Select Overall Manning Player of the Week


NEW ORLEANS (November 6) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Ahmad Bradshaw, Army (0-of-0, 0 yards, 0 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 99.5)
Bradshaw, running Army’s vaunted option offense, doesn’t throw a pass, but runs for a career-high 265 yards (on 23 carries) and scores one touchdown as the Black Knights shut down Air Force, 21-0.

A.J. Erdely, UAB (20-of-21, 197 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 95.0)
Erdely is near-perfect as he leads the Blazers to a 52-21 victory over C-USA rival Rice as they become bowl eligible in their first year of action after a two-year hiatus.

Caleb Evans, UL Monroe (24-of-32, 356 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 94.6)
Evans, who also rushes for 47 yards and two touchdowns, completes a 50-yard TD connection with 23 seconds to go as the Warhawks win 52-45 over Appalachian State, who had been perfect in Sun Belt action.

Will Grier, West Virginia (20-of-25, 316 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 90.7)
Grier records his eighth 300-yard game of the season while also connecting on multiple TD passes for the ninth straight game (every game this year) as the Mountaineers hold on to defeat No. 15 Iowa State, 20-16, in Big 12 play.

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (24-of-36, 598 yards, 5 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 98.1)
Mayfield, who also rushes for a touchdown, registers a school-record in passing yards as he leads the Sooners to a huge 62-52 victory in a wild Bedlam showdown with Oklahoma State.

Nathan Rourke, Ohio (21-of-33, 294 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 89.2)
Rourke, who also rushes for 54 yards and three touchdowns to break the school-record for rushing TDs in a season, breaks open a 28-28 game late in the third quarter as the Bobcats upend MAC rival Miami, 45-28.

Nate Stanley, Iowa (20-of-31, 226 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 90.8)
Stanley matches his career-high in touchdown passes as he leads the Hawkeyes to a shocking 55-24 blowout of No. 6 Ohio State – a team that had allowed just 10 TD passes all season.

Jordan Ta’amu, Ole Miss (31-of-40, 382 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 82.9)
Ta’amu, making his first career start, helps the Rebels erase a 10-point second-half deficit, connecting on a seven-yard touchdown with five seconds to go to lift Ole Miss to a 37-34 SEC road victory over 6-2 Kentucky.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 13 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) lead the way with four Manning Award wins each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-one players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2016 season.