Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week


Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week park

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its "Stars of the Week." College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

This week's eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Matt Barkley, USC
(23-of-30, 187 yards, 6 TDs, 1 INT)
On his 22nd birthday, Barkley matched his own school record with six touchdown passes as he led the Trojans to a 42-29 victory over Syracuse at the Meadowlands in New Jersey.

Kolton Browning, UL-Monroe
(42-of-67, 412 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT)
Browning leads the Warhawks to a shocking upset of No. 8 Arkansas by converting a fourth down with a TD pass to force overtime and hen on another fourth down play, he sprints through an open hole for a 16-yard game-winning touchdown in the extra session.

B.J. Daniels, USF
(22-of-40, 363 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT)
Daniels has a huge day and caps it off by throwing a 56-yard touchdown pass with 38 seconds left to lift the Bulls to a thrilling 32-31 comeback win over Nevada on the road.

Brett Hundley, UCLA
(21-of-33, 305 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT)
The freshman quarterback made a memorable Rose Bowl debut, adding 53 rushing yards to his impressive passing numbers, as the Bruins upset No. 16 Nebraska.

Collin Klein, Kansas State
(9-of-11, 210 yards, 1 TD, 1 INT)
Klein averages an impressive 19.1 yards per attempt and also rushes for 71 yards and three touchdowns as the Wildcats crush Miami, 52-13.

Denard Robinson, Michigan
(14-of-25, 208 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT)
"Shoelace" becomes the first player in NCAA history with three games with 200 yards passing and rushing as he runs for 218 yards, including scores of 79- and 58-yards, to lift the Wolverines to a tough 31-25 victory over Air Force.

Munchie Legaux, Cincinnati
(14-of-28, 205 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT)
New Orleans native Legaux also uses his legs, running for a game-high 117 yards (on just six carries) to lead the Bearcats to a 34-10 Big East victory over Pitt in their season opener.

Dylan Thompson, South Carolina
(21-of-37, 330 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT)
Filling in for injured starter Connor Shaw, Thompson throws a 53-yard completion on his first pass en route to a near-flawless performance in a 48-10 win over East Carolina.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its ninth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn's Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. This past season's honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins).