Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week


Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week park

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its "Stars of the Week." College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website 

This week's eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

David Ash, Texas
19-of-23, 326 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT
Ash registers his career-high for passing yards, including
scoring tosses of 46 and 55 yards, as the Longhorns score 66 points, the most
allowed by Ole Miss since 1917.

David Fales, San Jose State
27-of-34, 370 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT
Fales records his first 300-yard game and adds three
touchdowns, including a key 51-yard strike in the fourth quarter, to lift the
Spartans to a 40-20 victory over Colorado State.

Conor Halliday, Washington State
26-of-45, 378 yards, 4 TDs, 2 INT
Just like last season, Halliday steps up in a reserve role,
throwing four touchdown passes in a 35-27 win over UNLV – he now has 13 career
TD passes in six games.

Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
18-of-27, 342 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT
Lynch also piles up 125 yards on the ground with an 88-yard
TD run, but his biggest play is an eight-yard hook-up with 4:29 to go to lift
the Huskies to a 41-40 win over Army on the road.

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
20-of-36, 294 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT
Manziel, who also rushes for 124 yards and two touchdowns,
sets the school freshman record for passing yards in a 48-3 rout of SMU.

Bryn Renner, North Carolina
26-of-41, 363 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT
After the Tar Heels fall into a big first-half hole, Renner
rallies them for 20 fourth-quarter points, but a sixth touchdown pass goes off
the finger tips of his receiver and Louisville holds on for a 39-34 win.

Geno Smith, West Virginia
34-of-39, 411 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT
Smith, who has as many touchdowns (9) as incompletions this
year, became West Virginia's career passing yardage leader with a sensational
performance against James Madison.

Keith Wenning, Ball State
26-of-44, 222 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT
Wenning throws for three scores, makes a spectacular catch of
his own for a touchdown, and drives the Cardinals 44 yards in the final 49
seconds to set up a game-winning field goal as time expires in a 41-39 win over
state-rival Indiana.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its ninth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn's Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. This past season's honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a
top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins).