Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week


Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week park

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its "Stars of the Week." College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week's eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Tajh Boyd, Clemson
26-of-41, 396 yards, 2 TDs, 2 INT
Boyd tallies 64 rushing yards and a score as the Tigers score 17 unanswered points to close the game in a 47-31 victory over Georgia Tech.

Mike Glennon, North Carolina State
30-of-55, 259 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT
Glennon struggled for much of the game, but came to life when it counted, driving the Wolfpack to the game-winning score by completing three fourth-down passes, including two inside the 15, in a 17-16 upset of No. 3 Florida State.

Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
16-of-23, 195 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT
Lynch, who also rushes for 207 yards and three touchdowns, leads the Huskies back from a 23-13 second-half deficit by tallying three straight scores (one passing and two running) in a 35-23 road victory over Ball State.

Zach Maynard, California
25-of-30, 295 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT
Maynard also rushes for a touchdown as he sets a career-best in completion percentage in a near flawless performance for the Bears, who upset No. 25 UCLA.

Josh Nunes, Stanford
21-of-34, 360 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT
Nunes rushes for three touchdowns, including a pair in the fourth quarter which tied the game and forced overtime where the Cardinal went on to defeat Arizona, 54-48.

Denard Robinson, Michigan
8-of-16, 105 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT
Robinson also rushed for 235 yards to become the Big Ten's all-time rushing leader among quarterbacks as the Wolverines rolled to a 44-13 victory over Purdue.

Trent Steelman, Army
5-of-12, 79 yards, 0 TDs, 0 INT
Steelman directs Army's option-offense to perfection, rushing for 147 yards and three touchdowns, including the game-winning score on a 29-yard dash with 57 seconds remaining to shock Boston College, 34-31, and snap an eight-game losing streak.

Tyler Van Tubbergen, Western Michigan
23-of-28, 283 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT
Van Tubbergen throws touchdowns to five different receivers and also rushes for a score as the Broncos roll to a 52-14 victory over Massachusetts.

Last week's Manning Award Player of the Week was Geno Smith from West Virginia. Smith, a native of Miami, Fla., had a simply sensational performance going 45-of-51 for 656 yards with eight touchdowns and no interceptions. His performance tied the conference record for TD passes and set school marks for TDs, passing yards and completions as the Mountaineers needed every point in a wild 70-63 win over Baylor in their Big 12 debut. This was Smith's second win and third nomination so far this season.  He was the winner the week of Sept. 17, as well as once last year.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its ninth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn's Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. This past season's honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins).