Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week


Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week park

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its "Stars of the Week." College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week's eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Colby Cameron, Louisiana Tech
44-of-58, 450 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT
After a slow start, Cameron and the Bulldogs come to life, nearly erasing a 23-point second-half deficit before coming up just short in a 59-57 shootout with Texas A&M.

Devin Combs, Nevada
14-of-19, 167 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT
Making his first career start, Combs uses his arm and his feet (111 rushing yards and a TD) to help the Wolf Pack erase a 21-point deficit in a Mountain West road victory over UNLV.

Seth Doege, Texas Tech
32-of-42, 499 yards, 6 TDs, 1 INT
Doege matches his career-high in TD passes as he outdueled Heisman front-runner Geno Smith in Texas Tech's shocking 49-14 upset of previously undefeated and fifth-ranked West Virginia.

Ryan Griffin, Tulane
17-of-32, 302 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT
After missing three games with an injured shoulder, Griffin returns to the Tulane lineup and tosses the game-winning touchdown pass with 35 seconds to go to lift the Green Wave to its first victory of the season, 27-26, over SMU.

Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
13-of-20, 230 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT
Lynch continues to be a regular on the list as he adds 129 rushing yards and two scores in a 45-3 victory over Buffalo as the Huskies improve to 6-1.

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
24-of-40, 395 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT
Manziel also rushes for 181 yards and three touchdowns to break his own SEC and school records for total offense in a wild 59-57 shootout victory over nationally-ranked Louisiana Tech.

Cody Vaz, Oregon State
20-of-32, 332 yards, 3 TDs, 0 TD
Oregon State's perfect season appeared to be in trouble when its starting QB went down with an injury, but Vaz makes his first career start and leads the Beavers to a 42-24 win over BYU, whose defense had been ranked fifth in the nation.

Tyler Wilson, Arkansas
23-of-31, 372 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT
Wilson throws a 74-yard touchdown pass on the first play of the game and keeps on rolling to a career-high five touchdowns in less than three quarters of play as the Razorbacks beat Kentucky 49-7 in a weather-shortened game.

Last week's Manning Award Player of the Week was Michigan star Denard Robinson, a Deerfield Beach, Fla., native. Robinson's 235 yards on the ground established him as the Big Ten's all-time rushing leader among quarterbacks with a total of 3,905. His 235 yards also marked the second-most rushing yards in a single game by a Big Ten quarterback, short of his own record of 258 yards at Notre Dame Sept. 11, 2010. The senior also passed for 105 yards and one score as the Wolverines rolled to a 44-13 victory over Purdue. He collected his ninth mention as Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week and was also named the Maxwell Award Player of the Week. Robinson now has five career 200-yard rushing games, including two this season.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its ninth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn's Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. This past season's honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins).