Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week


Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week park

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its "Stars of the Week." College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week's eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Deon Anthony, Troy
29-of-41, 245 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT
Anthony, who also rushes for 115 yards (most by a Trojan quarterback since 1989) and two touchdowns, leads the Trojans to 17 unanswered points in a 38-37 comeback win over Florida International.

Matt Barkley, USC
19-of-20, 298 yards, 6 TDs, 0 INT
Barkley throws his 100th career TD pass to become USC's all-time leader in that category and also sets a Pac-12 record for completion percentage as the Trojans crush Colorado, 50-6.

Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville
21-of-25, 254 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT
Bridgewater adds 74 rushing yards and caps a wild back-and-forth battle by tossing the game-winning touchdown with 1:35 to go for a 27-25 victory over USF to keep the Cardinals undefeated.

Kolton Browning, UL-Monroe
22-of-41, 308 yards, 4 TDs, 2 INT
Browning helps the Warhawks erase a 21-point deficit in a game for first-place in the Sun Belt, capping his day with his second rushing touchdown and then tossing the two-point conversion in overtime of a 43-42 win over Western Kentucky.

Seth Doege, Texas Tech
30-of-42, 318 yards, 7 TDs, 0 INT
Doege sets a career-best for TD passes, including throwing three in overtime, to lead the Red Raiders to a critical Big 12 win over nationally-ranked TCU on the road.

Collin Klein, Kansas State
19-of-21, 323 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT
Klein has one of the top passing days of his career, while still doing damage with his feet (four rushing TDs), and leads the Wildcats to scores on their first eight possessions in a surprising 55-14 blowout of No. 13 West Virginia on the road.

Taylor Martinez, Nebraska
27-of-39, 342 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT
Martinez tosses two touchdowns in the final 6:08 of the game and adds 74 rushing yards and a score as the Cornhuskers come from behind to defeat Northwestern, 29-28.

Aaron Murray, Georgia
30-of-38, 427 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT
Murray becomes Georgia's all-time leader in touchdown passes as he plays a critical role in the Bulldogs' holding off of tenacious Kentucky, 29-24.

Last week's Manning Award Player of the Week was Oregon State's Cody Vaz. A native of Lodi, Calif., Vaz made his first career start and saw his first action since 2010 and passed for 332 yards and three touchdowns, completing 20-of-32 pass attempts against a BYU team that ranked among the national leaders for total defense. His 332 yards were the most by a Beaver quarterback making his first start since Matt Moore in the 2005 season opener against Portland State.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its ninth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn's Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. This past season's honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins).