Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week


Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week park

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its "Stars of the Week." College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week's eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Tyler Bray, Tennessee
(29-of-47, 531 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT)
Bray tallies the second-most passing yards in SEC history and tosses a career-high number of TDs and the Volunteers need every one of them to hold off a determined Troy squad, 55-48.

Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville
(19-of-28, 324 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT)
Bridgewater throws for a career-high five touchdowns as he rallies the Cardinals from a deficit for the sixth straight game to keep his team perfect and lift them into the top 10 of the BCS Standings.

Terrance Broadway, UL-Lafayette
(23-of-32, 373 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT)
Broadway also rushes for 87 yards and a touchdown to tally a career-high 460 yards of total offense as the Ragin' Cajuns spoil UL-Monroe's bid for a perfect Sun Belt season, 40-24.

Colby Cameron, Louisiana Tech
(30-of-39, 346 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT)
Cameron, who has not thrown an interception in a record 358 passes this year, leads the Bulldogs to their record ninth straight WAC victory and the No. 20 ranking in the country with a 51-27 win over UT-San Antonio.

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
(30-of-36, 311 yards, 0 TDs, 0 INT)
Manziel records his third game with 300 passing yards and 100 rushing yards (125, as well as a pair of touchdowns) as the Aggies roll over Mississippi State on the road, 38-13.

Marcus Mariota, Oregon
(20-of-23, 306 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT)
Mariota also rushes for 96 yards as he helps the Ducks score the most points ever allowed by USC, in a critical 62-51 victory over the Trojans in Los Angeles.

Aaron Murray, Georgia
(21-of-28, 384 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT)
After trailing by 10 early, Murray leads the Bulldogs to 37 unanswered points in a 37-10 victory over Ole Miss to bring Georgia within one game of clinching the SEC East title.

Tyler Van Tubbergen, Western Michigan
(22-of-32, 352 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT)
Trailing by nine entering the fourth quarter, Van Tubbergen, who also added a rushing TD in the game, throws for three TD strikes in the final stanza to lift the Broncos over Central Michigan, 42-31.

Last week's Manning Award Player of the Week was Fresno State standout Derek Carr, who led the Bulldogs back from a 21-0 deficit to register a 49-32 win at New Mexico. Carr completed 31-of-44 passes for 416 yards and four touchdowns while orchestrating an offensive effort that outscored the Lobos by a 35-8 margin in the second half. The Bakersfield, Calif., native was named the Mountain West Offensive Player of the Week for the second time this season.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its ninth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn's Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. This past season's honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins).