Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week


Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week park

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its "Stars of the Week." College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Wednesday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week. This week's voting week has been shortened due to Thanksgiving.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week's eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Ryan Aplin, Arkansas State
(28-of-42, 369 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT)
Aplin adds 85 rushing yards to finish with a school-record 454 yards of total offense while setting the Sun Belt career record for passing yards in a 41-34 win over Troy, the Red Wolves' sixth straight victory which keeps them in first place in the Sun Belt Conference.

Tajh Boyd, Clemson
(30-of-44, 426 yards, 5 TDs, 2 INT)
With 102 rushing yards and three scores on the ground, Boyd sets school and ACC records with eight touchdowns as he leads the Tigers to a 62-48 win over North Carolina State for their first 10-win regular season since 1981.

Devin Gardner, Michigan
(18-of-23, 314 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT)
Gardner tallies a career-high in passing yards while also running for three touchdowns to become the first Michigan QB with six TDs since 1983 as the Wolverines roll over Iowa, 42-17, to keep their Big Ten title hopes alive.

Everett Golson, Notre Dame
(20-of-30, 344 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT)
Golson tallies his career-highs in touchdowns and passing yardage to lead the Fighting Irish to a 38-0 win over Wake Forest to remain undefeated and climb to the No. 1 position in the country for the first time since 1993.

Landry Jones, Oklahoma
(38-of-51, 554 yards, 6 TDs, 1 INT)
Jones sets a school record for passing yards and matches the record for TD passes, including the game-winning touchdown pass with 24 seconds to go as the Sooners win a wild shootout with West Virginia, 50-49.

Chuckie Keeton, Utah State
(19-of-33, 322 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT)
Keeton, who adds 114 rushing yards and a pair of running scores, leads the Aggies to a critical overtime road upset of No. 20 Louisiana Tech, 48-41, to put Utah State in the driver's seat for the Western Athletic Conference title.

Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
(25-of-36, 407 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT)
Lynch continues to establish himself as an elite dual-threat quarterback, running for 162 yards to continue to lead the nation in rushing, as the Huskies defeat Toledo, 31-24, for their 10th win of the year.

Matt McGloin, Penn State
(22-of-32, 394 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT)
McGloin throws for a career-high in passing yards and also sets school records for single-season passing yards and career touchdowns as he leads Penn State to a 45-22 victory over Indiana.

Gardner, who makes his second appearance as a Manning Award Star of the Week, won the overall Player of the Week honor last week. Making just his second career start filling in for the injured Denard Robinson, Gardner led the Wolverines to a 38-31 overtime victory over nationally-ranked Northwestern to keep the Wolverines in the mix for the Big Ten Legends Division title. The junior connected on 16-of-29 passes for 286 yards and a pair of TDs in the victory; his biggest play came in the final seconds as he connected with Roy Roundtree on a 53-yard pass to set up the game-tying field goal with two seconds to go in regulation. Then in overtime, Gardner ran for his second touchdown of the game to clinch the critical victory.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its ninth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn's Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. This past season's honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins).