East St. John Wins Title at Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO High School Basketball Tournament

NEW ORLEANS (December 6, 2014) – East St. John defeated Brother Martin on the road, 52-44, to earn its first title in the Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO High School Basketball Tournament on Saturday evening. This year marked the 61st year of the tournament.

2014 Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Brackets

The Most Outstanding Player of the Tournament was Tre’von Jasmine from East St. John. Joining Jasmine on the all-tourney team were Richard Durant (John Curtis), Charles Brown (St. Augustine), Rob Weiss (Jesuit), Vajon Wallis (Brother Martin) and Troy Green (East St. John).

Saturday, Dec. 6 Championship Game
East St. John 52, at Brother Martin 44 – Standout: Tre’von Jasmine (18 pts)

Friday, Dec. 5 Semifinal Results
Brother Martin 47, Jesuit 44 (at Jesuit) – Standout: Vejon Wallis (14 pts, 7 rebs)
East St. John 61, St. Augustine 55 (at Jesuit) – Standout: Tre’von Jasmine (25 pts)

Saturday, Dec. 6 Losing Bracket Results
Newman 47, Covington 43 (at Jesuit)
Holy Cross def. St. Stanislaus by forfeit (at Jesuit)
John Curtis 61, Hahnville 38 (at Jesuit)
De La Salle 80, Hannan 33 (at Hannan)
Rummel 53, Shaw 33 (at Hannan)
St. Paul’s 75, St. Thomas Aquinas 64 (at Hannan)

Thursday, Dec. 4 Winning Bracket Results
Brother Martin 66, Hahnville 44 (at Brother Martin) – Standout: Venji Wallace (19 pts)
Jesuit 66, John Curtis 60 (at Holy Cross) – Standout: Rob Weiss (32 pts)
East St. John 57, St. Thomas Aquinas 47 (at Rummel) – Standout: Troy Green (17 pts)
St. Augustine 61, St. Paul’s 51 (at Hannan) – Standout: Kelvin Jackson (17 pts)

Thursday, Dec. 4 Losing Bracket Results
St. Stanislaus 78, Covington 77, OT (at Brother Martin) – Standout: Jerrod Rigby (23 pts)
Holy Cross 53, Newman 46 (at Holy Cross)
Rummel 37, De La Salle 22 (at Rummel) – Standout: Caleb Burks (10 pts)
Shaw 45, Hannan 40 (at Hannan)

Wednesday, Dec. 3 Opening Round Results
Hahnville 75, St. Stanislaus 45 (at Brother Martin) – Standout: Jai Knight (15 pts, 5 steals)
Brother Martin 68, Covington 48 (at Brother Martin)
John Curtis 69, Holy Cross 62 (at Jesuit) – Standout: Richard Durant (34 pts)
Jesuit 35, Newman 20, 7:30 p.m. (at Jesuit) – Standout: Rob Weiss (9 pts, 7 rebs)
East St. John 72, De La Salle 66 (at Rummel)
St. Thomas Aquinas 49, Rummel 42 (at Rummel)
St. Augustine 59, Shaw 38 (at Hannan) – Standout: Charles Brown, St. Aug (16 pts)
St. Paul’s 68, Hannan 27 (at Hannan) – Standout: Harrison Prieto, St. Paul’s (14 pts, 13 rebs)

Last year’s CYO Tournament saw East Jefferson hold off Brother Martin, 55-45, in the championship game. It was East Jefferson’s second title in the event; the Warriors’ first came in 1993 when Neil Reed led them to the championship.

East Jefferson guard Shaquille Preston was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player. Now playing for UT-Chattanooga, Preston finished with 24 points and five assists to come out on top in a showdown with Jordan Cornish, the star from Brother Martin, who is now playing at UNLV. Cornish finished with 26 points and 10 rebounds. The Warriors were also aided by 12 points, seven rebounds and four blocks from 6-7 Curtiss Anderson. Joining Preston on the all-tournament team were Cornish, Anderson, Juwan Green (Hahnville) and Troy Green (East St. John).