Dominican and Brother Martin Capture Metro Cross Country Championships

Dominican High School and Brother Martin High School won the girls’ and boys’ titles, respectively, at the Allstate Sugar Bowl Metro Cross Country Championships on Saturday morning at New Orleans City Park.

Allstate Sugar Bowl Metro Cross Country Official Results

The individual winners were Isabella Hemb from Mount Carmel, who defended her girls’ title with a three-mile time 19:34.1, and St. Paul’s star Eric Coston, who notched a 15:08.9 time in the boys’ three-mile race. Paige Fatland from Ben Franklin was second for the girls with a time of 19:41.8 while Brother Martin’s Hayden Courrege was the boys’ runner-up at 15:48.4.

Dominican tallied 75 points to narrowly edge Mount Carmel, which finished with 77 points. McGehee was third with 105 points while Sacred Heart (133) and Lusher (152) rounded out the girls’ top five.

On the boys’ side, Brother Martin finished with 59 points to hold off Jesuit, which finished with 71 points. John Curtis tallied 83 points followed by St. Paul’s (90 points) and Holy Cross (147).

All high school varsity boys and girls cross country teams from Orleans, Jefferson, St. Tammany, St. Bernard, St. Charles and Plaquemine Parishes were invited to participate. The meet was not divided by class or school size.

Girls’ Team Scores

  1. Dominican (75 points)
  2. Mount Carmel (77)
  3. McGehee (105)
  4. Sacred Heart (133)
  5. Lusher (152)
  6. Country Day (159)
  7. Ursuline (208)
  8. St. Martin’s (220)
  9. John Curtis (223)
  10. Newman (233)
  11. Belle Chasse (280
  12. Ben Franklin (296)
  13. Cabrini (305)
  14. Chapelle (363)
  15. Chalmette (380)


Boys’ Team Scores

  1. Brother Martin (59 points)
  2. Jesuit (71)
  3. John Curtis (83)
  4. St. Paul’s (90)
  5. Holy Cross (147)
  6. Rummel (156)
  7. St. Martin’s (191)
  8. Shaw (199)
  9. Newman (207)
  10. Belle Chasse (297)
  11. Country Day (332)
  12. Landry-Walker (351)
  13. Holy Rosary (361)
  14. Chalmette (394)
  15. Fisher (421)
  16. Ben Franklin (446)
  17. Ridgewood (492)


Top Girls’ Individuals

  1. Isabella Hemb, Mount Carmel (19:34.1)
  2. Paige Fatland, Ben Franklin (19:41.8)
  3. Emily Doyle, Dominican (19:50.9)
  4. Emma Roberts, Lusher (20:27.7)
  5. Conery Schmidt, McGehee (20:31.6)
  6. Riley Killian, Chapelle (20:37.7)
  7. Catherine Belle Paulk, Sacred Heart (20:37.9)
  8. Olivia Pitt, Sacred Heart (20:39.7)
  9. Kelsey Mayer, Mount Carmel (20:42.2)
  10. Mikayla Mayer, Newman (20:42.5)


Top Boys’ Individuals

  1. Eric Coston, St. Paul’s (15:08.9)
  2. Hayden Courrege, Brother Martin (15:48.4)
  3. Conner Killian, Rummel (15:50.0)
  4. Spencer Albright, St. Paul’s (16:06.4)
  5. Devyn Keith, John Curtis (16:14.4)
  6. Hunter Appleton, Brother Martin (16:16.2)
  7. Carlos Zervigon, Jesuit (16:17.5)
  8. Blake Baldassaro, Holy Cross (16:26.1)
  9. Bryant White, Shaw (16:27.6)
  10. Reed Meric, Jesuit (16:29.3)


The winning team in each race was presented with the Allstate Sugar Bowl Metro Cross Country Championship trophy. The top twenty finishers in each race received an Allstate Sugar Bowl Metro Cross Country Championship t-shirt.

A cross country team consists of seven runners per school. The first five runners from each team to finish will determine that team’s score. The overall place in the race of each runner determines the number of points that runner scores for his or her team.  For example, first place equals one point, second place equals two points etc. Adding the finish places of a school’s first five (out of seven) finishers will determine that school’s team score. The team with the lowest score wins the meet.

The mission of the Allstate Sugar Bowl is to sponsor and promote amateur sporting events which will foster revenue and spark economic growth in the city of New Orleans and the state of Louisiana. Through all of its year-round slate of over 50 events, the organization has generated over $2 billion of economic impact for the city and the state in the last decade alone.