De La Salle Wins Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Championship

NEW ORLEANS (December 3, 2016) – De La Salle defeated John Curtis, 83-72, to capture the championship of the Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Tournament on Saturday evening at Jesuit High School. It is De La Salle’s first CYO Basketball Tourney title since 1988 when Jay Fazende, who went on to star at Fordham, led the Cavaliers to the title. It is the eighth title all-time for the Cavaliers in the 63-year history of the event.

Troy Nisby led the Cavaliers with 19 points, including 17 in the second half, to go with 12 rebounds, while Derrick Munson added 17 points. Kai Morgan led the Patriots with a game-high 26 points and Dawson Crosby added 23.

Chalmette, which was led by tournament MVP Mitchell Robinson, cruised to a 95-58 victory over defending champion St. Paul’s in the third-place game. Robinson, a seven-footer who is the No. 9 rated high school player in the country according to ESPN, averaged over 40 points per game in the tournament.

All-Tournament Team
Mitchell Robinson, Chalmette – MVP
Dawson Crosby, John Curtis
Kai Morgan, John Curtis
Rodney Munson, De La Salle
Troy Nisby, De La Salle

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Tournament Championship, December 3
De La Salle def. John Curtis, 83-72

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Tournament Semifinals, December 2
De La Salle def. Chalmette, 83-81
Curtis def. St. Paul’s, 74-62

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Tournament Consolation Games, December 3
Newman def. Benjamin Franklin, 61-55
Jesuuit def. Shaw, 66-33
Holy Cross def. Brother Martin, 70-60
Chalmette def. St. Paul’s, 95-58 (Third place)
Rummel def. St. Thomas, 60-51
Catholic def. West Jefferson, 46-35

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Tournament Quarterfinals, December 1
De La Salle def. West Jefferson, 70-53
Chalmette def. Brother Martin, 93-62
John Curtis def. Catholic, 53-51
St. Paul’s def. East St. John, 79-69

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Tournament Opening Round, November 30
De La Salle def. Shaw, 73-53
West Jefferson def. Jesuit, 52-44
Brother Martin def. Newman, 60-43
Catholic High def. Holy Cross, 60-52 (OT)
Benjamin Franklin def. John Curtis, 46-33
East St. John def. Rummel, 59-58 (OT)
St. Paul’s def. St. Thomas Aquinas, 62-34

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Tournament Consolation Games, December 2
Brother Martin def. St. Thomas Aquinas, 75-29
Catholic def. East St. John, 48-44

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Tournament Consolation Games, December 1
Shaw def. Newman, 59-46
Jesuit def. Benjamin Franklin, 58-37
Holy Cross def. Rummel, 72-69

The Allstate Sugar Bowl took on sponsorship of the New Orleans CYO High School Tournament, which is celebrating its 63rd year of action this year, in 2008. In last year’s event, Devonte Allen capped off an MVP performance by knocking down the game-winning shot to lift St. Paul’s to an 81-79 victory over De La Salle to lift his school to its first-ever championship.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 27 national champions, 88 Hall of Fame players, 47 Hall of Fame coaches and 17 Heisman Trophy winners in its 82-year history. The 83rd Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, featuring teams from the Big 12 and the SEC, will be played on January 2, 2017. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.3 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors over 25,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.5 billion into the local economy in the last decade.