St. Augustine Captures Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Championship

D’Mari Wiltz. Photo by Wally Porter.

NEW ORLEANS (December 7, 2019) – St. Augustine defeated Lee Magnet, 56-43, to capture the championship of the Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Tournament. The victory gives the Purple Knights their 11th championship in the 65 years of the CYO Tournament.

2019 Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Bracket

St. Aug used a big second quarter to build a 33-19 halftime advantage and held on for the victory. D’Mari Wiltz led the Purple Knights with 16 points and was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player. Jaron Pierre and Jason Malbrue each added 14 points. Lee, which was making its first appearance in the tournament, was led by a 19-point effort from David Weber.

Wiltz was joined on the all-tournament team by teammates Pierre and Ashton Trufant as well as Weber, Isaiah Crawford (Archbishop Shaw) and Alex Crawford (Central Lafourche).

Allstate Sugar Bowl Basketball

In the first semifinal on Friday, St. Aug pulled away from Central Lafourche, 48-37. The Trojans were holding onto a 20-17 lead at halftime but the Purple Knights took charge in the third quarter, outscoring their foes 17-3 for a 34-23 advantage. St. Aug matched Central Lafourche in the fourth to earn the win as Jaron Pierre paced the winners with 15 points. The Purple Knights will be looking for their 11th CYO Tournament title, and their first since winning back-to-back championships in 2010 and 2011, on Saturday.

Lee Magnet also took advantage of a big third quarter to advance to the championship game. The Lee Patriots held a 25-20 halftime advantage, but a 25-point third stanza gave them a 50-33 advantage over the Curtis Patriots as they advanced with a 60-46 victory. Lee, which was led by 16 points from Zavier Sims, advances to its first CYO Tournament final. Jacob Wilson added 11 points for Lee while Curtis was led by 13 points from Darius Rocket.

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Championship, Saturday, December 7
St. Augustine (D’Mari Wiltz, 16 pts) def. Lee Magnet (David Weber, 19 pts), 56-43

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Consolation Games, Saturday, December 7
Long Beach vs. Lusher, 10 a.m. (at Jesuit)
St. Thomas Aquinas vs. St. Stanislaus, 10 a.m. (at CYO Gym, 2241 Mendez Street)
St. Paul’s vs. Shaw, 11:30 a.m. (at Jesuit)
Holy Cross vs. De La Salle, 11:30 a.m. (at CYO Gym, 2241 Mendez Street)
Jesuit vs. Northshore, 1 p.m. (at Jesuit)
Rummel vs. West Jefferson – cancelled

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Semifinals, Friday, December 6
St. Augustine (Jason Pierre, 15 pts) def. Central Lafourche (Jaheim Gray, 10 pts), 48-37
Lee Magnet (Zavier Sims, 16 pts) def. John Curtis (Darius Rocket, 13 pts), 60-46

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Quarterfinals, Thursday, December 5
Central Lafourche (Jaheim Gray, 12 pts) def. St. Paul’s (Zachary Fenn, 7 pts), 47-29
St. Augustine (Degruy, 13 pts) def. Shaw (Isaiah Crawford, 13 pts), 62-40
Lee Magnet (David Weber, 18 pts) def. Holy Cross (Aaron Ursin, 18 pts), 64-55
De La Salle (Leonard Jackson, 19 pts) def. John Curtis (Buddy Taylor, 16 pts), 70-55

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Consolation Games, Thursday, December 5
Jesuit (Luke LaForge, 14 pts) def. Long Beach, 89-41
Northshore (James Bridges, 10 pts) def. Lusher (Bahiy Watson, 8 pts), 53-20
Rummel (Bradley Smith, 14 pts) def. St. Thomas Aquinas (Aviyon Butler, 7 pts), 50-24
West Jefferson (White/Cook, 11 pts) def. St. Stanislaus, 40-17

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Tournament First Round Results, Wednesday, December 4
Central Lafourche def. Jesuit, 50-46
St. Paul’s def. Long Beach, 78-42
St. Augustine def. Lusher, 71-17
Shaw def. Northshore, 48-44
Lee Magnet def. Rummel, 46-39
Holy Cross def. St. Thomas Aquinas, 73-35
De La Salle def. St. Stanislaus, 72-31
John Curtis def. West Jefferson, 58-46

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Quarterfinals, Thursday, December 5
Central Lafourche vs. St. Paul’s, 7:30 p.m. (at Jesuit)
St. Augustine vs. Shaw, 7:30 p.m. (at Shaw)
Lee Magnet vs. Holy Cross, 7:30 p.m. (at Holy Cross)
De La Salle vs. John Curtis, 7:30 p.m. (at De La Salle)

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 93 Hall of Fame players, 50 Hall of Fame coaches and 18 Heisman Trophy winners in its 85-year history. The 86th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, featuring top teams from the Big 12 and the SEC, will be played on January 1, 2020. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.6 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors nearly 100,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.5 billion into the local economy in the last decade.