Curtis and Dominican Win Allstate Sugar Bowl Metro Cross Country Championships

NEW ORLEANS (November 8, 2014) – John Curtis and Dominican captured the boys’ and girls’ titles, respectively, at the Allstate Sugar Bowl Metro Cross Country Championships on Saturday in New Orleans City Park. The event featured 19 local boys’ squads and 13 girls’ teams. The meet was not divided by class or school size.

2014 Allstate Sugar Bowl Metro Cross Country Results

John Curtis, the defending Class 3A State Champions, had three of the top six finishers in the three-mile race, including individual champion Devyn Keith. All five of the Patriots’ scorers placed in the top 13. Keith, a junior and one of the top distance runners in the country, covered the course in 15:04.8, pulling away from St. Paul’s standout Eric Coston, who took second in 15:14.5.

Curtis won the event with 37 points, followed by Brother Martin, the Class 5A runner-up last year, which tallied 59 points. St. Paul’s, last year’s 5A state champ, was third with 61 points. Shaw (110) and Rummel (124) rounded out the top five.

The Dominican girls, state runner-up from Class 5A, had a much tougher battle, edging Mt. Carmel, 62-65. Dominican had its five scorers finish in the top 19, while Mt. Carmel had the individual winner, Isabella Hemb (18:38.6), while its other scorers finished in the top 26.

McGehee finished third in the girls’ race with 93 points, followed by John Curtis (105) and Lusher (113).

The winning team in each race was presented with the Allstate Sugar Bowl Metro Cross Country Championship trophy. The top twenty finishers in each race received an Allstate Sugar Bowl Metro Cross Country Championship t-shirt, while the individual winners collected champion plaques.

Top Five Teams (Boys)

  1. John Curtis (37 points)
  2. Brother Martin (59)
  3. St. Paul’s (61)
  4. Shaw (110)
  5. Rummel (124)

Top Five (Girls)

  1. Dominican (62 points)
  2. Mt. Carmel (65)
  3. McGehee (93)
  4. John Curtis (105)
  5. Lusher (113)

Top Finishers (Boys)

  1. Devyn Keith (John Curtis): 15:04.8
  2. Eric Coston (St. Paul’s): 15:14.5
  3. Hayden Courrege (Brother Martin): 15:31.7
  4. Chace Edwards (Brother Martin): 15:38.9
  5. Austin Brown (John Curtis): 15:41.5
  6. Zachary Barthel (John Curtis): 15:45.6
  7. Bryan White (Shaw): 15:47.2
  8. Spencer Albright (St. Paul’s): 15:55.6
  9. Conner Killian (Rummel ): 15:57.7
  10. Stephen Schlottman (St. Paul’s): 15:58.4
  11. Keith Mendoza (Shaw): 16:00.2
  12. Tyler Dugas (John Curtis): 16:04.5
  13. Trey Stewart (John Curtis): 16:05.2
  14. Benji D’Antonio (Jesuit): 16:07.3
  15. Benjamin Crowley (Brother Martin): 16:08.4
  16. Alex Lewis (Holy Rosary): 16:10.2
  17. Felipe Pelaez (Brother Martin): 16:17.7
  18. Alexander Harp (St. Paul’s): 16:18.4
  19. Antonio Imbornone (St. Martin’s):  16:19.9
  20. Blake Baldassaro (Holy Cross): 16:20.5

Top Finishers (Girls)

  1. Isabella Hemb (Mt. Carmel): 18:38.6)
  2. Haley Johnson (Newman): 18:53.9
  3. Emily Doyle (Dominican): 19:25.0
  4. Paige Fatland (Ben Franklin): 19:25.6
  5. Nadia Haik (Ursuline): 19:28.7
  6. Laura Butcher (McGehee): 19:30.9
  7. Mikayla Rulh (Newman): 19:32.8
  8. Troyanna Gause (John Curtis): 19:40.5
  9. Hope Hoffman (Mt Carmel): 19:41.3
  10. Cori Michell (Lusher): 19:45.3
  11. Madeleine Bienvenu (McGehee): 19:46.4
  12. Claudia Hemb (Mt Carmel): 19:51.4
  13. Lauren Walker (Ben Franklin): 19:52.4
  14. Maddie Myers (John Curtis): 19:59.5
  15. Grace Williams (Dominican): 20:00.8
  16. Sam Messonnier (Dominican): 20:01.7
  17. Anne Buchert (Dominican): 20:05.5
  18. Ashley Wingerter (John Curtis): 20:10.8
  19. Isabel Gibson (Dominican): 20:11.8
  20. Conery Schmidt (McGehee): 20:16.1

A cross country team consists of seven runners per school. The first five runners from each team to finish will determine that team’s score. The overall place in the race of each runner determines the number of points that runner scores for his or her team.  For example, first place = one point, second place = two points etc. Adding the finish places of a school’s first five (out of seven) finishers will determine that school’s team score. The team with the lowest score wins the meet.

The mission of the Allstate Sugar Bowl is to sponsor and promote amateur sporting events which will foster revenue and spark economic growth in the city of New Orleans and the state of Louisiana. Through all of its year-round slate of events, the organization has generated over $2 billion of economic impact for the city and the state in the last decade alone.