Over 1,000 Runners Compete in Allstate Sugar Bowl Cross Country Classic

NEW ORLEANS (October 13, 2018) – The Allstate Sugar Bowl Cross Country Classic featured over 1,000 runners competing at the high school varsity, junior high and elementary levels on Saturday in New Orleans City Park. Over 400 high school varsity runners from 38 different schools competed in the event.

Allstate Sugar Bowl Cross Country

Vestavia Hills from Alabama won the boys’ varsity title while Vandebilt Catholic (Houma, La.) won the girls’ varsity championship.

Varsity Results: Boys | Girls
Junior High Results: Boys | Girls
Elementary Results: Boys | Girls

Brother Martin senior Hunter Appleton defended his title in the boys’ varsity race with a time of 14:52.61 over three miles.

“I really tried to come out and annihilate on this course,” Appleton told The New Orleans Advocate. “I’m really thrilled. I think my training is really paying off for me. State meets and district are all coming up so hopefully we can get those. I’m going to give everything I’ve got, and hopefully after that I can compete in a national meet and make All-American. That will really help me in my recruitment process.”

Sacred Heart’s Mary Nusloch was the girls’ varsity winner with a time of 17:48.09 over the three-mile course.

“It feels good,” Nusloch told The New Orleans Advocate. “I was a little worried about the weather coming in because I know this course can be really hot sometimes but the cooler temperatures really helped out. We only have a few meets left so I’m excited to see what our team can do the rest of the way.”

Participating high schools included Archbishop Rummel, Archbishop Shaw, Belle Chasse, Ben Franklin, Biloxi, Bogalusa, Brother Martin, Cabrini, Carver Academy, Central Lafourche, Chalmette, Chapelle, Cohen, Crescent City Christian, De La Salle, Dominican, E.D. White, Einstein Charter, Fontainebleau, Hahnville, Holy Cross, Jesuit, John Curtis, Kenner Discovery, Landry-Walker, Louise S. McGehee, Lusher, Mandeville, McDonogh 35, Mt. Carmel, Newman, Ocean Springs, Sacred Heart, St. Augustine, St. George’s, St. Katharine Drexel, St. Paul’s, St. Scholastica, Terrebonne, Thibodaux, Thomas Jefferson, Ursuline Academy, Vandebilt Catholic, Vestavia Hills, Warren Easton and Woodlawn.

Brother Martin won the boys’ junior high division and Colin Volpe from Holy Cross was the individual winner with a time of 11:15.31 on the two-mile course. In the girl’s junior high division, Ocean Springs (Miss.) won the team title while Lusher Charter’s Sirena N’Mili was the individual winner with a time of 13:02.89 on the two-mile course.

In the boys’ elementary division, individual winner Michael Vocke (8:04.32, 1.5 miles) led Christian Brothers to the team title. St. Dominic was the girls’ elementary champion while Virginia Turner from St. Pius X School was the individual champion (9:41.22, 1.5 miles).

A cross country team consists of seven runners per school. The first five runners from each team to finish will determine that team’s score. The overall place in the race of each runner determines the number of points that runner scores for his or her team.  For example, first place equals one point, second place equals two points etc. Adding the finish places of a school’s first five (out of seven) finishers will determine that school’s team score. The team with the lowest score wins the meet.

The mission of the Allstate Sugar Bowl is to sponsor and promote amateur sporting events which will foster revenue and spark economic growth in the city of New Orleans and the state of Louisiana. Through its year-round slate of nearly 60 events, the organization has generated over $2.5 billion of economic impact for the city and the state in the last decade alone.