Ole Miss Captures Allstate Sugar Bowl Volleyball Title

NEW ORLEANS (September 9, 2019) – Ole Miss held off tournament host Tulane in a hard-fought five-set thriller on Sunday afternoon to earn the Allstate Sugar Bowl Collegiate Classic championship. This year marked the 18th year of the tournament.

Tulane opened by winning two of the first three sets of the day, but the Rebels rallied to win the final two sets, each in extra points, to capture the title.

The Ole Miss outside hitting duo of senior Emily Stroup and freshman Anna Bair were honored with All-Tournament plaudits, while Stroup was crowned MVP of the weekend. The pair combined for 34 kills in the contest, as Stroup registered her first 20-kill match of the season. Stroup added four blocks and 15 digs, recording her third double-double of the season.

Tulane was led by senior Kaylie McHugh who was named the defensive MVP of the tournament. She finished the championship contest with a match-high 25 digs and 12 assists. Freshman Lauryn Green had 13 kills with a pair of blocks in the final and joined McHugh on the all-tournament team.

Sunday Results:
Ole Miss def. Tulane, 3-2 (17-25, 27-25, 15-25, 26-24, 17-5)
Houston Baptist def. Missouri State, 3-0 (25-13, 25-23, 25-12)

Saturday Results:
Ole Miss def. Missouri State, 3-0 (25-14, 25-20, 25-10)
Tulane def. Houston Baptist, 3-0 (25-4, 25-21, 28-26)

Friday Results:
Ole Miss def. Houston Baptist, 3-0 (25-22, 25-16, 25-11)
Tulane def. Missouri State, 3-0 (25-17, 25-22, 25-16)

All-Tournament Team:
Emily Stroup, Ole Miss (MVP)
Kaylie McHugh, Tulane (Defensive MVP)
Anna Bair, Ole Miss
Aubrey Cheffey, Missouri State
Lauryn Green, Tulane
Mikayla Vivens, Houston Baptist