College of Charleston Wins Allstate Sugar Bowl Collegiate Regatta

Photo by Wally Porter

NEW ORLEANS (September 22, 2019) – The College of Charleston, one of the top collegiate sailing programs in the nation, held off the Tulane sailing team to win the Allstate Sugar Bowl Collegiate Regatta championship this past weekend on Lake Pontchartrain.

Allstate Sugar Bowl Regatta

The first-place Cougars finished with 326 points to edge the Green Wave (348 points) by just 22 points between the three divisions after 18 total races.

“Today was another great day for us,” Tulane head coach Charles Higgins said. “With the breeze being a little lighter today, we optimized our boat pairings for the conditions and everyone showed today that yesterday’s great performance was no fluke.”

For Charleston, Jack Brown skippered the Cougars to a 10-point win in B-Division alongside crew Hunter Skinner, as Stephen Leuck cruised to a 45-point victory in C-Division with a crew combination of Natasha Scott Morton and Katherine Lounsbury. Junior Marain Williams skippered the Cougars to a second-place performance in A-Division alongside Lounsbury and Scott Morton.

Tulane’s women’s A Division team – with skipper Ciara Rodriguez-Horan and crews Amelia Schofield and Grace Siwicki – won the regatta and totaled 130 points after 18 races on the water, while recording three first-place finishes to finish out competition on Sunday.

Green Wave skipper Cameron Giblin, alongside crews Quinn Keenan and Katie Cartiglia, earned a second-place finish overall and within the coed B Division. The trio totaled just 86 points in the two-day regatta, winning three races on the final day of sailing while finishing in the top ten in all but one race.

The British Universities Sailing Allstar Team finished in third place with 483 points, followed by UC Santa Barbara with 598, Old Dominion with 656 and Jacksonville with 675. The British team is a group of top-level sailors from the United Kingdom that visits the United States every four years to compete against American college teams.