Coaches, Athletes and Teams To Be Recognized at New Orleans Hall of Fame Banquet


Coaches, Athletes and Teams To Be Recognized at New Orleans Hall of Fame Banquet park

NEW ORLEANS – Seven prestigious annual awards will be among a full slate of honors to be presented at the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Banquet on Saturday, August 6, at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The Greater New Orleans Sports Awards Committee, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, selects annual award winners in a variety of categories, in addition to selecting each year's Hall of Fame class and Amateur Athletes of the Month. Overall, 23 individuals and two teams will be honored at the banquet. This year's Hall of Fame class will be announced over the next four days while the Corbett Awards, which recognize the top male and female amateur athletes in the state, will be released next week.

2015-16 Annual Award Winners
Outstanding Boys Prep Team, New Orleans: St. Paul's Soccer
Outstanding Girls Prep Team, New Orleans: Ursuline Basketball
Outstanding Girls Prep Coach, New Orleans: Andrea Williams (Ursuline Basketball)
Outstanding Boys Prep Coach, New Orleans: Robert Dauterive (Brother Martin Wrestling)
Outstanding Female Amateur, New Orleans: Kristen Nuss (Mount Carmel Volleyball/Basketball)
Outstanding Male Amateur, New Orleans: Leonard Fournette (LSU Football)
Outstanding College Coach, Louisiana: Alan Green (Xavier University Men's Tennis)

The St. Paul's boys' soccer team captured its third straight state championship and finished the season as the nation's top-ranked team, according to MaxPreps. Ursuline Academy, a team without any juniors or seniors in the starting lineup (it started three sophomores, a freshman and an eighth-grader) earned the No. 8 seed for the Top 28 tournament and proceeded to post five state tournament victories to earn the state title. The Lions were directed to their first-ever state title in basketball by head coach Andrea Williams, the Class 4A Coach of the Year by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association. Robert Dauterive directed the Brother Martin Wrestling team to its fifth consecutive Allstate Sugar Bowl/LHSAA Division I state championship this spring – it was his eighth overall title as the coach at his alma mater. Kristen Nuss, the Gatorade State Player of the Year in volleyball, was named the MVP of the state title match in volleyball and the state championship game in basketball as she wrapped up her career with five state titles (three volleyball, two basketball). Leonard Fournette, a St. Aug graduate, rushed for an LSU record 1,953 yards in 2015 – he became the first LSU player in history to lead the nation in rushing and the first SEC player to accomplish the feat since 1949. Alan Green led the Xavier men's tennis team to a runner-up finish at the NAIA National Championships, the highest finish ever for a Xavier team in an NAIA national tournament.

More Info and History of Awards:
Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame
Eddie Robinson Award
Annual Awards
James J. Corbett Awards
Jimmy Collins Special Awards

The Greater New Orleans Sports Selection Committee began in 1957 when James Collins spearheaded a group of sports journalists to form a sports awards committee to immortalize local sports history. For 13 years, the committee honored local athletes each month. In 1970, the Sugar Bowl stepped in to sponsor and revitalize the committee, leading to the creation of the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame in 1971, honoring 10 legends from the Crescent City in its first induction class. While adding the responsibility of selecting Hall of Famers, the committee has continued to recognize the top amateur athlete in the Greater New Orleans area each month – the honors enter their 60th year in 2016. To be eligible, an athlete must be a native of the greater New Orleans area or must compete for a team in the metropolitan region.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 27 national champions, 88 Hall of Fame players, 47 Hall of Fame coaches and 17 Heisman Trophy winners in its 82-year history. The 83rd Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, featuring teams from the Big 12 and the SEC, will be played on January 2, 2017. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.3 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors over 25,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2 billion into the local economy in the last decade.