Yearly Award Winners, 2001 2017-04-25T11:39:43+00:00

Yearly Award Winners, 2001The Sugar Bowl’s Sport Selection Committee chose its 2001 award winners and honored them with a banquet and ceremony in the Louisiana Superdome.

The yearly award winners were:
Outstanding Professional Coach, State of Louisiana: Tony Pena, New Orleans Zephyrs
Outstanding College Coach, State of Louisiana: Rick Jones, Tulane Baseball
Outstanding Prep Coach, State of Louisiana: Chris Jennings, Jesuit Basketball
Outstanding Male Amateur Athlete, Greater New Orleans: Mewelde Moore, Tulane Football
Outstanding Female Amateur Athlete, Greater New Orleans: Meg Henican, Isidore Newman Volleyball/Soccer
Outstanding Professional Athlete, Greater New Orleans: Marshall Faulk, St. Louis Rams
Outstanding Professional Athlete, State of Louisiana: David Toms, Professional Golf
Outstanding Prep Player, State of Louisiana: Skyler Higgins, Higgins Football

Meriting special recognition from the Sports Selection Committee will be the Super Bowl XXXVI Host Committee and Tommy Henry, commissioner of the Louisiana High School Athletic Association.

Tony Pena led the Zephyrs to a share of the Pacific Coast League championship last season. New Orleans had the league’s second-best regular-season record and swept Iowa in the semifinals of the playoffs. New Orleans and Tacoma were scheduled to meet in the championship series, but were declared co-champions when the series was canceled in the wake of the September 11 terrorist attacks.

Jesuit High School basketball coach Chris Jennings guided the Blue Jays to their first state championship in 38 years, winning the Class 5A title. Jesuit captured the championship by beating defending state champion Shaw in the final, avenging two regular-season losses to the Eagles.

Tulane University head baseball coach Rick Jones skippered the Green Wave to a school-record 56 wins, won the Conference USA regular season and tournament titles, hosted and won its first-ever NCAA Regional and Super Regional, and advanced to the College World Series for the first time in school history.

Green wave running back Mewelde Moore established himself as the first player in NCAA Division I history to rush for more than 1,250 yards and catch more than 60 passes in a season. He broke Tulane’s 53-year old single-season rushing mark by posting 1,421 yards last season. Moore was also the first Green Wave player to gain 100 yards rushing and receiving in the same contest.

A senior standout at Isidore Newman High School, Meg Henican led both her volleyball and soccer teams to state tournament titles. She was named the Player of the Year on the Times-Picayune’s all-metro volleyball team, her third consecutive honor, and was named to the state’s all-tournament volleyball team.

St. Louis Rams running back Marshall Faulk, a New Orleans native who played at Carver High School, was named the 2001 NFL Player of the Year and helped guide the Rams to a berth in Super Bowl XXXVI. He led the league with 2,147 total yards, including 1,382 rushing yards and 12 touchdowns.

Former LSU golfer David Toms won the 2001 Compaq Classic in New Orleans as well as the 2001 PGA Championship. Following the PGA triumph, Toms was named to the 2002 Ryder Cup team. He finished 2001 in the top five of the PGA money list and ranked No. 7 in the world.

Higgins High football standout Skyler Green, a senior quarterback, rushed for 2,180 yards on 194 attempts and averaged 11.2 yards per carry. He rushed for 410 yards in one game and scored 26 touchdowns as a senior. He was an all-state performer and was named to the Times-Picayune all-metro team as its Outstanding Player.

Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo