Mandeville Girls Win 2001 Sugar Bowl Track Title; Alabama’s Hoover High Takes Boys’ Championship

2001 Sugar Bowl Track & Field Classic Results

NEW ORLEANS (March 24, 2001) – Mandeville High School, on the strength of its sprinters and relay teams, won its second Allstate Sugar Bowl Track & Field Classic championship in 2001. On the boys’ side, it was Hoover High School defending its title from 2000. Grace King was the runner-up for the boys while Natchez and UMS-Wright, both from Mississippi tied for second amongst the girls’ programs.

Janice Davis from Natchez was the Outstanding Girls’ Track Performer after becoming the first athlete to sweep all three sprint races, winning the 100-, the 200- and the 400-meter dashes. The Outstanding Girls’ Field Performer was Edra Finley from UMS-Wright, who won the triple jump. Finely also captured the title in the 300-meter hurdles.

On the boys’ side, Alvin Brown from Christian Life Academy, the triple-jump winner, won Outstanding Field Performer honors. Rummel High’s Ryan McMullin was the Outstanding Track Performer after posting a meet record of 1:55.01 in the 800-meter run.

Winners (Boys):
100: Skyler Green (L.W. Higgins), 10.86
200: Skyler Green (L.W. Higgins), 21.85
400: Ahmad Jasmine (Christian Life Academy), 54.82
800: Ryan McMullin (Rummel), 1:55.01 (MR)
1600: Pat Gavin (St. Paul’s), 4:14.77 (MR)
3200: Michael Brown (Hoover, Ala.), 9:38.15
110H: Chris Jackson (Hoover, Ala.), 14.74
300H: Chris Jackson (Hoover, Ala.), 39.79
4×100: Shaw, 42.70
4×200: Shaw, 1:27.77
4×400: O. Perry Walker, 3:26.88
4×800: Rummel, 8:02.64 (MR)
High Jump: Willie Bradley (Hoover, Ala.), 6-04
Pole Vault: Matt Vogtner (McGill-Toolen, Ala.), 14-06
Long Jump: Chris Lawson (Holy Cross), 22-05.25
Triple Jump: Alvin Brown (Christian Life Academy), 45-05.25
Shot Put: Dale Lirette (Hahnville), 51-04.75
Discus: Justin Adamson (McGill-Toolen, Ala.), 151-03
Javelin: Michael Chmurka (St. Amant), 183-11

Winners (Girls):
100: Janice Davis (Natchez, Miss.), 11.73 (MR)
200: Janice Davis (Natchez, Miss.), 25.34
400: Janice Davis (Natchez, Miss.), 54.82
800: Sara Doss Yarbrough (Mountain Brook), 2.19.98
1600: Cassie Hanan (Dominican), 5:17.92
3200: Ebanie Lewis (O.P. Walker), 11:38.71
110H: Ashley Brandon (Jewel Sumner), 15.48
300H: Edra Finley (UMS-Wright), 47.49
4×100: Mandeville, 50.02
4×200: Mandeville, 1:43.03
4×400: McMain, 4:05.14
4×800: Mt. Carmel, 9:45.99
High Jump: Adrienne Wiltz (L.W. Higgins), 5-0
Pole Vault: Rhiannon Jaet (McGill-Toolen), 10-0
Long Jump: Renitta Williams (Ellender), 18-2
Triple Jump: Edra Finley (UMS-Wright), 37-06.75
Shot Put: Watkisha James (Ellender), 35-06
Discus: Keisha Harris (McComb, Miss.), 98-02.50
Javelin: Jessica Welborn (Bonnabel), 117-11

Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA Bowl Season Cup Footer Logo