Manning Award Watch List 2019

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, announced its preseason Watch List on August 21, 2019. The list included 30 of the top quarterbacks in the nation heading into the 2019 season. The winner will again be selected by a voting panel, which includes national media and each of the Mannings, after the bowls.

The 2019 Watch List included players from all 10 Football Bowl Subdivision conferences. The SEC led the way with six selections, while the Big 12 and the Pac-12 each had four selections, followed by the ACC and the Big Ten with three each. There were 16 seniors on the list while the junior class was represented by 10 quarterbacks and the sophomore class had four.

Five 2018 Manning Award finalists were included on the 2019 Watch List: Ian Book (Notre Dame), Jake Fromm (Georgia), D’Eriq King (Houston), Trevor Lawrence (Clemson) and Tua Tagovailoa (Alabama).

2019 Manning Award Preseason Watch List (2018 stats)

 Name, Cl., School
 Cmp-Att Pct. Yards TDs INT QBR Rushing
Ian Book, Sr., Notre Dame214-314.6822,62819780.1280 yds, 4 TDs
Jake Bentley, Sr., South Carolina240-388.6193,171271472.978 yds, 2 TDs
Alan Bowman, So., Texas Tech227-327.6942,63817772.9NA
Charlie Brewer, Jr., Baylor240-390.6153,01919970.8375 yds, 7 TDs
Joe Burrow, Sr., LSU219-379.5782,89416578.4399 yds, 7 TDs
K.J. Costello, Sr., Stanford269-413.6513,540291182.6NA
Sam Ehlinger, Jr., Texas275-425.6473,29225577.3482 yds, 16 TDs
Caleb Evans, Sr., UL Monroe231-374.6182,869161247.2632 yds, 10 TDs
Mason Fine, Sr., North Texas303-469.6463,79327554.8118 yds, 2 TDs
Feleipe Franks, Jr., Florida188-322.5842,45724667.1350 yds, 7 TDs
Jake Fromm, Jr., Georgia206-306.6732,74930685.179 yds, 3 TDs
Justin Herbert, Sr., Oregon240-404.5943,15129876.4166 yds, 2 TDs
Kelvin Hopkins, Sr., Army51-93.5481,0266376.41,017 yds, 17 TDs
D’Eriq King, Sr., Houston219-345.6352,98236684.8674 yds, 14 TDs
Trevor Lawrence, So., Clemson259-397.6523,28030481.5177 yds, 1 TD
Jordan Love, Jr., Utah State267-417.6403,56732667.863 yds, 7 TDs
Adrian Martinez, So., Nebraska224-347.6462,61717863.1629 yds, 8 TDs
Cole McDonald, Jr., Hawai’i285-484.5893,875361057.1359 yds, 4 TDs
Kellen Mond, Jr., Texas A&M238-415.5733,10724973.9474 yds, 7 TDs
Steven Montez, Sr., Colorado258-399.6472,84919963.5238 yds, 4 TDs
James Morgan, Sr., FIU213-326.6532,72726768.8NA
Shea Patterson, Sr., Michigan210-325.6462,60022781.5273 yds, 2 TDs
Bryce Perkins, Sr., Virginia225-349.6452,68025964.6923 yds, 9 TDs
Brock Purdy, So., Iowa State146-220.6642,25016776.7308 yds, 5 TDs
Nathan Rourke, Sr., Ohio165-275.6002,43123877.6860 yds, 15 TDs
Nate Stanley, Sr., Iowa235-396.5932,852261074.2NA
Tua Tagovailoa, Jr., Alabama245-355.6903,96643693.1133 yds, 2 TDs
Khalil Tate, Sr., Arizona170-302.5632,53026863.8224 yds, 2 TDs
Zac Thomas, Jr., Appalachian State159-254.6262,03921679.8504 yds, 10 TDs
Brady White, Jr., Memphis246-392.6283,29626953.7NA

After announcing 30 quarterbacks to watch during the preseason, the Manning Award opted to increase its focus players based on the many outstanding performances during the first half of the year.

2019 Manning Award Watch List Midseason Addition (stats through 10/19/19)

 Name, Cl., School
 Cmp-Att Pct. Yards TDs INT QBR Rushing
Jack Abraham, Jr., Southern Miss155-220.7052,26313881.450 yds, 4 TDs
Kelly Bryant, Sr., Missouri130-206.6311,71513567.7209 yds, 1 TD
Shane Buechele, Jr., SMU162-250.6482,12218675.671 yds, 2 TDs
Jack Coan, Jr., Wisconsin127-167.7601,3839280.6NA
Sean Clifford, So., Penn State116-184.6301,74216277.1269 yds, 3 TDs
Jacob Eason, Jr., Washington157-233.6741,98116372.2NA
Dan Ellignton, Sr., Georgia State140-213.6571,58216375.0480 yds, 2 TDs
Justin Fields, So., Ohio State116-164.7071,49222194.5291 yds, 8 TDs
Dillon Gabriel, Fr., UCF121-201.6022,00017568.4NA
Anthony Gordon, Sr., Washington St.246-347.7092,98129778.6NA
Sam Howell, Fr., North Carolina149-244.6111,89220364.7NA
Tyler Huntley, Sr., Utah111-150.7401,5649187.0229 yds, 3 TDs
Jalen Hurts, Sr., Oklahoma114-154.7402,07420395.6705 yds, 10 TDs
Tanner Morgan, So., Minnesota101-152.6641,62316374.3NA
Jamie Newman, Jr., Wake Forest141-209.6751,77217569.1275 yds, 3 TDs
Malcolm Perry, Sr., Navy24-40.6004893285.0792 yds, 14 TDs

The additions to the Watch List come from eight different conferences with the Big Ten leading the way with four quarterbacks. The AAC and the Pac-12 each had three recognized, while the ACC added two quarterbacks to the list. The newcomers include six seniors, five juniors, three sophomores and two freshmen.

Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo