Outstanding Boys’ Prep Coach, New Orleans

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has recognized the top prep coaches from the Greater New Orleans area since 2000 – candidates must coach a high school team that is based in the Greater New Orleans area. From 1962-1999, the award was presented to the top prep coach in the state of Louisiana, regardless of the sport gender, and then from 2000-2013, the award was presented to the top New Orleans coach, regardless of sport gender. A separate award for girls’ prep coach was established for 2013-14. The honor is selected by the Greater New Orleans Sports Awards Committee, which has been existence since 1957. All of the Sugar Bowl awards were presented on a calendar-year basis until 2009 when the Committee changed to an academic calendar (July-June). The annual awards banquet is typically held in late July or early August. Records from 1991-98 are not available.

Gerald Lewis, the first-year head coach of the St. Augustine High School basketball team, was selected as the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Greater New Orleans Boys’ Prep Coach of the Year for 2020-21. The Greater New Orleans Sports Awards Committee, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, selects annual award winners in a variety of categories; it also selects Amateur Athletes of the Month and each year’s Hall of Fame class.

Lewis, in his first year at the helm of the St. Aug program, led the Purple Knights to the LHSAA Division I championship, its first state championship since winning the Class 5A Championship in 2011. In the semifinals, the third-seeded Purple Knights overcame a 17-point second-quarter deficit to defeat No. 2 St. Paul’s, 75-72, in overtime.

“As a coach, you just want to see your guys come together,” Lewis said. “That’s everything I’m teaching them. Be a brotherhood. Lean on each other. Trust each other. Be that for each other. And when you’re down 17, you can’t come back if you don’t do that.”

The victory gave St. Aug a third chance in as many seasons to take down No. 1 Scotlandville in the Division I championship. Scotlandville came into the title game with four straight state titles on their résumé and the Hornets had taken down the Purple Knights by 20 and 27 points in the last two title games. This time, St. Augustine (29-7) rallied for a lead in the third quarter and stayed ahead to the end, winning 47-44 at Burton Coliseum in Lake Charles.

“I didn’t know that was going to swing the score,” said Lewis, whose team went from down seven to up four at the end of a 13-2 run in the third quarter. “I felt like we had more legs and more energy than the five guys they want to play. That was our game plan.”

The Greater New Orleans Sports Awards Committee has recognized outstanding high school coaches for the New Orleans area since 1962. Lewis is the first coach from St. Augustine to win the area Coach of the Year honor since 1979 when football coach Otis Washington, a member of the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame, was honored.

The other finalists for Greater New Orleans Boys’ Prep Coach of the Year were Kenneth Goodlett (Jesuit Baseball), Bruce Himbert (Brother Martin Bowling) and Steven Kelly (McMain Basketball). Goodlett directed the Blue Jays to their first state title since 2011 as they closed the season with a 25-game winning streak to take the LHSAA Division I state championship. After losing its first regular-season match since 2013, Himbert refocused the Brother Martin bowling team and it re-established itself as the team to beat in Louisiana as it won the LHSAA Championship for an unprecedented fifth time, despite entering the postseason as the fifth seed. Kelly, the LSWA Class 4A Coach of the Year, led the Mustangs to victory over top-seeded district rival Carver in the LHSAA Class 4A Championship game for the school’s first basketball title – McMain posted a 1-23 record four years ago before hiring Kelly as its coach.

2020-21 Gerald Lewis St. Augustine Basketball
2019-20 Nick Monica Archbishop Rummel Football
2018-19 Wayne Stein St. Charles Catholic Baseball
2017-18 Jeff Curtis John Curtis Baseball
2016-17 Brice Brown Edna Karr Football
Paul Kelly De La Salle Basketball
2015-16 Robert Dauterive Brother Martin Wrestling
2014-15 Sean Moser St. Paul’s Soccer
2013-14 Nick Saltaformaggio East Jefferson Football
2012-13 Jay Roth Archbishop Rummel Football
2011-12 Frank Monica St. Charles Catholic Football
2010-11 Rod Cusachs Archbishop Rummel Wrestling
2009-10 Jay Roth Archbishop Rummel Football
2008 Stephen Robicheaux Destrehan Football
2007 Hubie Collins Jesuit Soccer
2006 Dave Baudry Archbishop Rummel Baseball
J.T. Curtis John Curtis Football
2004 Laury Dupont West St. John Football
2003 Lou Valdin Hahnville Football
2002 Frank Wilson O. Perry Walker Football
2001 Chris Jennings Jesuit Basketball
2000 Darren Laiche Archbishop Shaw Basketball
1999 Chuck Dorvin Ridgewood Girls’ Basketball
1990 Jim “Chick” Childress Ruston Football
1988 J.T. Curtis John Curtis Football
1987 Hank Tierney Archbishop Shaw Football
1986 Jim “Chick” Childress Ruston Football
1985 J.T. Curtis John Curtis Football
1984 Frank Monica Jesuit Football
1983 J.T. Curtis John Curtis Football
1982 Ray Charboneau Brother Martin Wrestling
1981 Tom Gainey Slidell Football
1980 J.T. Curtis John Curtis Football
1979 Otis Washington St. Augustine Football
1978 Jim Robarts Archbishop Rummel Basketball
1977 NA
1976 NA
1975 Otis Washington St. Augustine Football
1974 Larry Schneider Archbishop Rummel/Legion Baseball
1973 Ted Washington Booker T. Washington Basketball
1972 Charlie Brown Neville Football
1971 Andy Russo Brother Martin Basketball
Bobby Conlin Brother Martin Football
1970 Andy Russo Brother Martin Basketball
1969 Lewis Murray Bogalusa Football
1968 A.L. Williams Woodlawn Football
1967 Jack Grey Airling Football
1966 Buddy Rhodes Buras Football
1965 Woody Turner Buras Track & Field
1964 Ray Porta Baton Rouge Football
1963 Ken Tarzetti Jesuit Football
1962 Ken Tarzetti Jesuit Football
Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA Bowl Season Cup Footer Logo