83rd Annual Allstate Sugar Bowl
January 2, 2017 – Mercedes-Benz Superdome – New Orleans, La.
Oklahoma 35 vs. Auburn 19

Allstate Sugar Bowl Post Game Notes

Oklahoma Post Game Notes | Auburn Post Game Notes

Sweet Appearances
With the victory, Oklahoma moves to 6-2 in its eight Sugar Bowl appearances, while Auburn falls to 2-3-1 in its six contests.

Big 12 vs. SEC
This was the 13th meeting between teams that now make up the Big 12 and SEC. The first meeting came in the second Sugar Bowl in 1936 when TCU and Hall-of-Famer Sammy Baugh held off LSU and its own Hall-of-Fame quarterback Abe Mickal, 3-2, in a quagmire. Those teams split national championship recognition that season. The last Big 12-SEC meeting in the Sugar Bowl was last year’s game when Ole Miss cruised to a 48-20 victory over Oklahoma State. The Big 12 now holds an 8-5 advantage.

Auburn’s Sugar Bowl bid marked the 77th time a current member of the SEC has earned an invite to New Orleans. With the loss, the league’s current membership has an all-time mark of 35-41-1 in the Sugar Bowl. Oklahoma became the 21st Big 12 team to play in the Sugar Bowl; the league is 13-8 in those appearances.

Fourth-Straight Year of 500 Yards of Offense
With Oklahoma’s 524 yards of total offense, the Sooners became the fourth-straight Sugar Bowl participant to eclipse 500 yards of total offense, as Ole Miss (554 in 2016), Ohio State (537 in 2015) and Alabama (516 in 2014) have put up over 500 yards of offense over the last three years. Prior to the current stretch, the most consecutive years with 500-yard performances was two (2006 & 2007). Only 12 of the 164 Sugar Bowl teams have tallied 500 yards of offense in the game.

Opening Drive Touchdown
Auburn received the kickoff to open the 83rd Allstate Sugar Bowl and wasted no time in reaching the end zone, as the Tigers put together a 14-play, 75-yard drive that lasted 5:56, capped off by a three-yard touchdown run by Chandler Cox. Auburn’s game-opening drive touchdown was the first in the Sugar Bowl since Alabama scored to open the 80th edition of the Allstate Sugar Bowl on Jan. 2, 2014. In that game, T.J. Yeldon scored on a one-yard rush to wrap up a four-play, 75-yard drive in just 1:49 for the Crimson Tide.

10th-Longest Punt in Sugar Bowl History
With 5:54 remaining in the first and with the Auburn Tigers deep in their own territory, P Kevin Phillips flipped the field, as the senior booted a 63-yard punt to Oklahoma’s 29-yard line. The punt is the 10th longest in Allstate Sugar Bowl history, surpassing Ralph Giacomarro’s 62-yard punt for Penn State vs. Georgia on Jan. 1, 1983.

Lowest Scoring First Quarter since 2012

After the first stanza of the 83rd Allstate Sugar Bowl, Auburn led Oklahoma, 7-0. The seven points marked the lowest combined total of first quarter points in a Sugar Bowl since Jan. 3, 2012, when Virginia Tech held a 3-0 lead over Michigan after the first quarter.

Big Boot
Auburn’s Daniel Carlson put the Tigers up 10-7 with 7:16 remaining in the first half with a 49-yard field goal. Carlson’s boot is tied for the eighth-longest field goal in Sugar Bowl history. Two other kickers in Wyoming’s Jerry DePoyster (vs. LSU on Jan. 1, 1968) and Miami’s Dane Prewitt (vs. Alabama on Jan. 1, 1993) have also kicked 49-yard field goals during Sugar Bowl contests.

One Point Game at Half
Oklahoma led Auburn, 14-13, heading into halftime. It marked the second time in the last three Allstate Sugar Bowls that there was just a one-point differential at halftime, as Alabama led Ohio State, 21-20, heading into intermission on Jan. 1, 2015. However, one would have to go all the way back to the 1949 Sugar Bowl to find a one-point halftime differential prior to the 2015 contest. Oklahoma led North Carolina, 7-6, on New Year’s Day in 1949 at halftime before holding on to win, 14-6.

Higher-Ranked Team Victorious
Oklahoma’s victory in the 83rd Allstate Sugar Bowl marked the second-straight year that the higher-ranked team coming into the Sugar Bowl claimed the win. Last year, No. 12 Ole Miss defeated No. 16 Oklahoma State, 48-20. Prior to that, the lower-ranked team had won four-straight.

Two Rushing TDs for Mixon
Oklahoma’s Joe Mixon rushed for two touchdowns on the evening, becoming the 25th player in Sugar Bowl history to rush for two touchdowns. The last to do so was J.W. Walsh of Oklahoma State just last year.


There were no sacks in the 83rd Allstate Sugar Bowl between Auburn and Oklahoma. The last time a team was held from recording a sack during the Sugar Bowl was when Arkansas failed to do so against Ohio State on Jan. 4, 2011.

First Down City
Auburn (22) and Oklahoma (28) combined for 50 first downs during the 83rd Allstate Sugar Bowl. It marked the first time since 2006 when both West Virginia and Georgia posted 27 first downs that the Sugar Bowl saw more than 50 in a contest.

Just One Turnover
There was just one turnover between Oklahoma and Auburn, as Auburn’s Jeremy Johnson was intercepted by Auburn’s Jordan Thomas with 8:51 remaining in the contest. With just one turnover between the two teams, it marked the first time since 2011 that there was just one turnover in the Sugar Bowl, as Arkansas was intercepted once by Ohio State on Jan. 4, 2011. The last Sugar Bowl with no turnovers was when Cincinnati and Florida squared off against one another on Jan. 1, 2010.

Let’s Kick It
Kevin Phillips posted the third-highest average per punt (with a minimum of three punts), as he booted five punts for a total of 246 yards, good for an average of 49.2 yards per punt. Phillips trails only JK Scott (7-385-55.0) for Alabama in 2015 and Shayne Edge (3-158-52.7) for Florida in 1994 in Sugar Bowl history.

10-plus Tackles
Oklahoma’s Caleb Kelly tallied 12 total tackles (8 solo, 4 assist), becoming the first player to post 10+ tackles  in a Sugar Bowl since Curtis Grant (10 total) and Landon Collins (12 total) of Ohio State and Alabama, respectively, did so during the Jan. 1, 2015 Sugar Bowl.

Auburn Passing Yardage
Auburn posted just 154 yards through the air on the evening, marking the lowest total in a Sugar Bowl since Michigan notched just 128 during a 23-20 victory over Virginia Tech on Jan. 3, 2012.

Oklahoma’s Ground Attack
Oklahoma posted 228 yards on the ground against Auburn. Their total marked the third-straight Allstate Sugar Bowl in which a team rushed for 200+ yards, as Ole Miss (207 in 2016) and Ohio State (281 in 2015) had done so in the previous two installments.

Game Captains

Game captains for Oklahoma were redshirt-junior QB Baker Mayfield, junior RB Samaje Perine, senior LB Jordan Evans and senior S Ahmad Thomas. Game captains for Auburn were senior LG Alex Kozan, senior WR Marcus Davis, junior DE Carl Lawson and senior DT Montravius Adams.

Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA Bowl Season Cup Footer Logo