Brother Martin Captures Varsity Title at Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Classic park

Brother Martin High School posted a 7-2 victory over North Shore Lacrosse to capture the varsity championship at the eighth Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Classic on Sunday at Chappapeela Sports Park in Hammond, La. St. Paul’s School won the title in the junior varsity division while North Shore captured championships in the U-15 and U-13 divisions while the Carrollton Boosters were victorious in the U-11 division. A total of 44 teams participated in the event.

Full Results

Facebook Photo Gallery

Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse

The Brother Martin Varsity posted a total of seven victories in the event opposite zero losses. The semifinal match-up with St. Paul’s was their closest contest as the Crusaders handed the Wolves their only loss of the event with a 4-3 decision. The other semifinal saw undefeated North Shore knock off undefeated UMS-Wright, 7-3. North Shore is a club team made up of student-athletes from Covington and Mandeville.

Jesuit was the runner-up in the junior varsity bracket, while Baton Rouge Catholic was second in the U-15 division, the Carrollton Boosters were second in U-13 and Christian brothers finished second in the U-11 division.

Teams participating in the event (multiple teams from some schools) include:

Archbishop Rummel (Metairie)
Baton Rouge Mustangs
Brother Martin (New Orleans)
Captain Shreve (Shreveport)
Carrollton Boosters
Catholic High (Baton Rouge)
Central High (Baton Rouge)
Christian Brothers (New Orleans)
Dutchtown (Geismar)
Holy Cross (New Orleans)
Jesuit (New Orleans)
Lafayette Hurricanes
North Shore Lacrosse (Covington/Mandeville)
Ocean Springs (Miss.)
St. Catherine (Metairie)
St. Martin’s (Metairie)
St. Paul’s (Covington)
St. Thomas More (Lafayette)
UMS-Wright (Mobile, Ala.)

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 27 national champions, 88 Hall of Fame players, 47 Hall of Fame coaches and 17 Heisman Trophy winners in its 82-year history. The 83rd Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, featuring teams from the Big 12 and the SEC, will be played on January 2, 2017. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.3 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors over 25,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2 billion into the local economy in the last decade.