Allstate Sugar Bowl Collegiate Bowling Invitational Begins Friday

NEW ORLEANS (October 16, 2019) – The eighth annual Allstate Sugar Bowl Collegiate Bowling Invitational will begin on Friday and continue through Sunday at Colonial Lanes in Harahan, La. The 16-team invitational is one of the top collegiate bowling events in the country, featuring nine teams currently ranked in the NTCA Top 25, including seven teams ranked in the top 15, including host Tulane University and its 14th-ranked squad.

The top-notch field is headed by No. 1 Vanderbilt, last year’s national runner-up, and second-ranked Stephen F. Austin, the reigning national champion. Sam Houston State, a three-time Sugar Bowl champion, joins the fray at No. 5, followed by No. 7 Maryland Eastern Shore and No. 8 North Carolina A&T. Lincoln Memorial out of Harrogate, Tennessee, is at No. 13 and one spot ahead of Tulane, followed by last year’s Sugar Bowl champion Louisiana Tech at No. 17. UAB is the final ranked team in the tournament this weekend coming in at No. 19.

The rest of the field consists of Alabama State, Grambling, Jackson State, Southern, Texas Southern, first-year program Tusculum and Valparaiso.

“It’s all about the experience and having fun. It’s not so much about going in to win as much as it is about feeding off each other, understanding lane play and enjoying the experience,” head coach Hayley Veitch said. “We know we’re going to have a lot of people supporting us, and for us its knowing that the more fun we’re having the better we’ll be at executing our overall plan.”

The three-day event gets underway Friday morning at 9:30 a.m. with five five-game Baker matches, moving to Saturday’s five traditional team matches at 8:30 a.m. Sunday concludes the tournament beginning at 8:30 a.m., with the bracket finals to determine the overall tournament team champion and final standings.

Each day of the event will be streamed online via Tulane All-Access at

Tulane returns four members from the team that finished last season with a 66-56 overall record in the 2018-19 season, where the squad was 26-20 in Baker competitions and 32-18 in the traditional team format matches. The Green Wave had seven top 10 finishes on the campaign last year, advancing to the second day of the Southland Bowling League Championship to close out the year.

“The team has had the best work ethic that I’ve ever seen in the nine years that I’ve been here. The team has come together and has a really good dynamic both on and off the lanes,” Veitch said. “They really work hard and hold each other up in practice. They don’t clock watch, they just keep going until practice is over and they want more. Something that champions always desire to have is more time.”

The seven-team squad will be led by a pair of upperclassmen in senior Isabelle Lee and junior Madison McCall. The team returns both newcomers from last season in sophomores Crystal Singh and Veronica Petrinec, while adding three key signees in freshmen Jenica Baron, Kylie Frick and Amelia Vasquez.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 93 Hall of Fame players, 50 Hall of Fame coaches and 18 Heisman Trophy winners in its 85-year history. The 86th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, featuring top teams from the Big 12 and the SEC, will be played on January 1, 2020. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.6 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors nearly 100,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.5 billion into the local economy in the last decade.