Allstate Sugar Bowl's Sixth Annual National Prep Basketball Classic Begins January 6


Allstate Sugar Bowl's Sixth Annual National Prep Basketball Classic Begins January 6 park

The Allstate Sugar Bowl's sixth annual National Prep Basketball Classic will tip off with the opening games of the boys' bracket on Wednesday, January 6 at the Alario Center in Westwego, La. There will be two brackets for girls with both beginning play on Thursday, January 7.

The boys' event features four Louisiana state champions from last year – Scotlandville (Class 5A), Landry-Walker (Class 4A), University (Class 3A) and Riverside (Class 2A), as well as Westbury Christian, who was last year's Class 4A state champ in Texas. In addition, Salmen (Class 4A) and Lafayette Christian (Class 1A) were state runner-ups last year. Tift County is the top-ranked team in the state of Georgia currently.

The girls' bracket features a pair of state champions, Warren Easton (Class 4A) and University Lab (Class 3A) as well as two state runners-up, Salmen (Class 4A) and Sumner (Class 3A) and four semifinalists, Destrehan (Class 5A), Cabrini (Class 4A), Karr (Class 4A) and St. Thomas Aquinas (Class 2A).

Boys' teams scheduled to compete are:
Chalmette (Chalmette)
Country Day (Metairie) – Class 1A state semifinalist, ranked No. 24 nationally
Edna Karr (New Orleans) – Class 4A state quarterfinalist
Lafayette Christian (Lafayette) – Class 1A state runner-up, ranked No. 18 nationally
Landry-Walker (New Orleans) – Class 4A state champion
Richwood (Monroe)
Riverside (Reserve) – Class 2A state champion
Tift County (Tifton, Ga.) – Top-ranked team in Georgia, ranked No. 12 nationally
St. Thomas More (Lafayette)
Salmen (Slidell) – Class 4A state runner-up
Scotlandville (Baton Rouge) – Class 5A state champion, ranked No. 15 nationally
University High (Baton Rouge) – Class 3A state champion, ranked No. 35 nationally
West Jefferson (Harvey) – Class 5A state quarterfinalist
Westbury Christian (Houston) – Texas TAPPS 4A state champion

Girls' Platinum Bracket:
Cabrini (New Orleans) – Class 4A state semifinalist
Destrehan (Destrehan) – Class 5A state semifinalist
Edna Karr (New Orleans) – Class 4A state semifinalist
Fair Park (Shreveport) – Class 4A state quarterfinalist
John Curtis Christian (River Ridge)
Madison Prep (Baton Rouge) – Class 1A state quarterfinalist
Mount Carmel (New Orleans) – Class 5A state quarterfinalist
Natchitoches Central (Natchitoches) – Class 5A state quarterfinalist
Ouachita (Monroe)
Pineville (Pineville) – Class 5A state quarterfinalist
Richwood (Monroe)
St. Michael's (Baton Rouge) – Class 4A state quarterfinalist
St. Thomas Aquinas (Hammond) – Class 2A state semifinalist
Salmen (Slidell) – Class 4A state runner-up
University Lab (Baton Rouge) – Class 3A state champion
Warren Easton (New Orleans) – Class 4A state champion

Girls' Gold Bracket:
Belle Chasse (Belle Chasse)
Chapelle (Metairie)
Covington (Covington) – Class 5A state quarterfinalist
De La Salle (New Orleans)
Dominican (New Orleans)
Hahnville (Hahnville)
Hannan (Covington)
Helen Cox (Harvey)
Jewel Sumner (Kentwood) – Class 3A state runner-up
Riverside (Reserve) – Class 2A state quarterfinalist
Sacred Heart (New Orleans)
Slidell (Slidell)
Terrebonne (Houma)
Ursuline (New Orleans)
West St. John (Edgard) – Class 1A state quarterfinalist
Woodlawn (Baton Rouge)