Allstate Sugar Bowl to Host the Seventh Annual NFF National Hall of Fame Salute


Allstate Sugar Bowl to Host the Seventh Annual NFF National Hall of Fame Salute park

The National Football Foundation (NFF) announced today that the Allstate Sugar Bowl will host the 7th Annual NFF National Hall of Fame Salute. The event will honor the newest class of College Football Hall of Fame inductees on the field during the pregame festivities of the BCS match-up between the No. 13 Michigan Wolverines (10-2) and the No. 11 Virginia Tech Hokies (11-2). The game is set to kickoff at 8:30 p.m. ET on January 3, 2012 in the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans, La., The game will be televised on ESPN. This year's game marks the 78th edition of the Allstate Sugar Bowl Classic.

"It is a thrill to welcome this year's College Football Hall of Fame inductees to the Allstate Sugar Bowl," said Judge Lance Africk, president of the Allstate Sugar Bowl. "Their presence adds to our year-end celebration of college football and its rich history and pageantry."

The National Hall of Fame Salute at the Allstate Sugar Bowl will highlight the outstanding careers of 14 players and two coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision who established themselves among the greatest to ever set foot on the college gridiron. Inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame at the 54th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on December 6 in New York City, the hall of famers will participate in the pregame festivities, including an introduction on the field in front of the sellout crowd. In addition to the celebration on the field before the game, the hall of famers will partake in a variety of activities throughout the city of New Orleans.

"We are grateful to the Allstate Sugar Bowl for shining a light on this year's Hall of Fame Class," said NFF President & CEO Steven J. Hatchell. "The leadership of Judge Lance Africk, Paul Hoolahan, NFF Chairman Archie Manning and the entire Allstate Sugar Bowl family allows us to further showcase the careers of the best the college gridiron has ever seen."

"An invitation to play in the Sugar Bowl stands among the greatest achievements that a college team can achieve," said Manning, a 1989 inductee into the College Football Hall of Fame who played for Ole Miss, including as the 1970 Sugar Bowl MVP in a 27-22 victory against Arkansas. "And for 78 years, the Sugar Bowl has produced some of the greatest memories in college football history. Celebrating the College Football Hall of Fame Class adds to the Sugar Bowl's powerful legacy as a crucible for the history of our great sport."



  • CARLOS ALVAREZ – WR, Florida (1969-71)
  • DOUG ENGLISH – DT, Texas (1972-74)
  • BILL ENYART – FB, Oregon State (1966-68)
  • EDDIE GEORGE – RB, Ohio State (1992-95)
  • MARTY LYONS – DT, Alabama (1975-78)
  • RUSSELL MARYLAND – DT, Miami, Fla. (1986-90)
  • DEION SANDERS – DB, Florida State (1985-88)
  • JAKE SCOTT – DB, Georgia (1967-68)
  • WILL SHIELDS – OG, Nebraska (1989-92)
  • SANDY STEPHENS* – QB, Minnesota (1959-61)
  • DARRYL TALLEY – LB, West Virginia (1979-82)
  • CLENDON THOMAS – HB, Oklahoma (1955-57)
  • ROB WALDROP – DL, Arizona (1990-93)
  • GENE WASHINGTON – WR, Michigan State (1964-66)

* Deceased and represented by a family member.


  • LLOYD CARR – 122-40-0 (75.3%) – Michigan (1995-2007)
  • FISHER DeBERRY – 169-109-1 (60.8%) – Air Force (1984-2006)


Since the establishment of the Sugar Bowl in 1935, the New Orleans classic has featured 125 future members of the College Football Hall of Fame (81 players, 44 coaches). From the most recent class of Hall of Fame inductees, the Sugar Bowl added four more alums: Lyons, Maryland, Sanders, and Scott. Click here for a full list of College Football Hall of Fame inductees who have played in the Sugar Bowl.

Lyons made three winning appearances for the Crimson Tide in the classic. After 1975 season, he played in the 13-6 victory against Penn State. After the 1977 season, he helped Alabama score a 35-6 win against Ohio State, and after the 1978 season, he was part of "The Goal Line Stand" that stopped Penn State from tying the game, giving Alabama a 14-7 victory and the national title.

Maryland appeared in the Sugar Bowl following the 1989 season as Miami topped Alabama, 33-25, for the national championship. Sanders enabled the Seminoles to hold on, 13-7, against Auburn in the 1989 edition by making an end-zone interception in the final seconds of the game, and Scott suited up in the 1969 Georgia loss, 16-2, to Arkansas.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier bowl games in the country, having hosted 22 national champions, 81 Hall of Fame players, 44 Hall of Fame coaches and 15 Heisman Trophy winners in its 77-year history. The Allstate Sugar Bowl will host the 78th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic on January 3, 2012 and the Allstate BCS National Championship Game on January 9, 2012. In addition to football, the Allstate Sugar Bowl is involved with various community initiatives through hosting and sponsorships of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors over 13,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2 billion into the local economy in the last decade. For more information, visit

Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl "Red" Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 121 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame, the NFF Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments, Play It Smart, the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association, and scholarships of more than $1.3 million for college and high school scholar-athletes. The NFF presents the MacArthur Bowl, the William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth, and releases the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) Standings. For more information, please visit